Thursday, September 14, 2017

Tuscany Candle Fall 2017 Wax Melts Reviews

Tuscany Candle Fall 2017 Wax Melts Reviews

Tuscany Candle Fall 2017 Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:


Tuscany Candle wax melts can be found at various stores, including JoAnn Fabric, Christmas Tree Shops, Wegman's, Meijer's, and some gift and card shops.

Autumn Slumber
This is a smoky scent but I can't figure out the other note. It's not a woodsy scent, and it's not sweet at all. Maybe balsam? But it's not a pine scent either. The other note is a little sour but not in a bad way. Maybe some kind of savory spice like sage or rosemary, I just don't know. It's a nice scent, not my favorite but I think a lot of people will like this one. Throw was excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Chai Latte
This does not smell like chai or tea of any kind. It's most likely an older scent re-used with a new name. But it smells great. It's caramel with a hint of pecan and a barely noticeable touch of cinnamon. It's not overly rich or overly sweet, and not a salty caramel. Unfortunately, throw was poor, 2 out of 5.

Cinnamon Cider Donut
I can't believe their quality control team didn't pick up on the misspelling of "Cinnamon" on the front label (they spelled it "Cinnmon" without the "a"). As far as the scent, it's a nice apple cider scent with a sweet bready cinnamon donut note. Throw was very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

Fall Festival
This smells like straight sweet cinnamon, like cinnamon candy, with maybe a hint of pumpkin spice. Throw was excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Harvest Pumpkin
A nice sweet rich pumpkin pie scent with cinnamon and maybe a hint of caramel. Throw was very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

Harvest Vineyard
I think this is the same scent as Cobblestone Candles Live, Love, Laugh from Kirkland's. It smells like grape juice made with concord grapes (a richer more succulent grape scent). It's not a wine scent at all, and thankfully it doesn't have that wine fermentation note that makes wine scented wax melts smell sour. Melted, it had kind of a fake grape note. And throw was fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5.

Honeycrisp Apple
A fresh sweet apple scent with a little bit of cinnamon. It's a nice scent, although a typical fall apple scent. Throw was only good, 3 out of 5, which is a bit disappointing because apple scents in general usually have excellent throw.

Sunday Pancakes
This is the same scent as the Food Network "Sunday Morning Pancakes" scent that came out a few years ago (Food Network melts are discontinued). Kirklands store also has a Sunday Pancakes candle (no melts) under the Cobbletone Candle brand. Why the same scent among these three brands? Because Tuscany Candle, Food Network, and Cobblestone Candle candles and melts (as well as Sonoma brand at Kohls, and Hallmark brands) are all manufactured by the same company, Empire Brands Co. (formerly Langley Empire Candle) (https://empirebrandsco.com/).

On cold sniff, this scent smells like moldy pancakes. But when it's melted, that odd moldy note dissipates, and you're left with an unbelievably authentic pancake scent! It smells like dry pancakes without any toppings, although there's just a hint of butter and maple syrup, but not enough to be a rich sweet bakery scent. It's a fantastic scent. Throw was excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Vanilla Birch
I smell balsam (a subtle woodsy pine note) with a mossy note that smells a little like garden mint, but it's not really mint. There's also a very slight smoky note. It's a fantastic, cozy scent. It's not a sweet scent at all, and I don't smell vanilla. It's similar to Better Homes & Gardens Winter's Sleigh Ride from November 2016. Throw was fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

And if you are a U.S. based wax company (retail or vendor) and would like me to review your scented wax melts, please leave a comment below, or on YouTube, with your company name and contact information. This website gets an average of 3,000 NEW visits per month in the U.S.

Big Lots Living Colors Fall 2017 Autumn Radiance Wax Melts Reviews

Big Lots Living Colors Fall 2017 Autumn Radiance Wax Melts Reviews

Big Lots Living Colors Fall 2017 Autumn Radiance Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:


Living Colors wax melts and candles are found at Big Lots stores.

Apple Chai Tea
This is a cinnamon apple scent with a bit of an apple cider vibe. It's not overly sweet, so the apples smell like older, over-ripe apples (but not in a bad way). I don't smell chai or tea, so this is probably just an older cinnamon apple or apple cider scent that they renamed this year. Throw was fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5.

Autumn Festival
I smell apples and maybe berries and a little bit of cinnamon. It's different from the Apple Chai Tea scent, since it's not an apple cider scent. I can't figure out the other notes in this one. Maybe vanilla and perhaps a hint of lemon. It's almost like an apple crumble cake scent (but not apple pie), although it's not really a bakery scent. It's very nice. Throw was fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5.

Buttercream Pumpkin
This just smells like pumpkin pie. I don't notice any buttercream notes, although it might be very slightly  sweeter than other pumpkin pie scents I've smelled. Probably an older pumpkin pie scent that they renamed this year. Throw was good, 3 out of 5.

Caramel Rum Latte
This smells fantastic on cold sniff, a perfect coffee scent with a little milk, hazelnut, and a hint of chocolate, like a hazelnut mocha coffee. There may be a subtle hint of caramel, but I don't smell any rum type notes. It's not a bitter coffee scent, and although it has a hint of sweetness, it's not an overly sweet fake coffee scent. It's nice and authentic and smells incredible. Unfortunately, when melted, it turns into just a fake coffee scent without any of the yummy subtle notes I detect on cold sniff. Throw was fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5, definitely not strong enough for a coffee scent, especially one that smells so strong on cold sniff!

Ginger Pumpkin
This smells like pumpkin pie with a little bit of caramel (but not a salted caramel) and cinnamon, and maybe a hint of apple. It's a nice scent, but I don't smell ginger at all. Throw was poor, 2 out of 5.

Harvest Wreath
A nice scent, but definitely not what it should smell like based on the scent name. I was expecting a fall scent, cinnamon, pine, etc. Instead, it smells like bathroom cleaner, a fresh clean scent with maybe a hint of lemon. There's a tiny bit of a "Pine Sol" note in there, so maybe that's the pine that should be in this scent! Again, not a fall or winter scent, but it does smell nice and clean and would be perfect for a bathroom. Throw was poor, 2 out of 5.


I think I need to give up on Living Colors wax melts. The throw is just not good enough to justify melting in hopes of finding the one or two that will throw well. And to make sure it wasn't my nose playing tricks on me, after I finished melting the last Living Colors scent, I put a cube of a scent by another company in the warmer and it had excellent throw. So my sniffer is fine!


Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

And if you are a U.S. based wax company (retail or vendor) and would like me to review your scented wax melts, please leave a comment below, or on YouTube, with your company name and contact information. This website gets an average of 3,000 NEW visits per month in the U.S.

Friday, September 8, 2017

Yankee Candle Home Inspiration Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews (Yankee American Home at Walmart)

Yankee Candle Home Inspiration Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews (Yankee American Home at Walmart)

Yankee Candle Home Inspiration Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:

Yankee American Home wax melts at Walmart are now called Yankee Candle Home Inspiration. They have a lot of new scents for Fall 2017, but many of those scents are very similar to each other.



A Fine Fall Day

On cold sniff, it smells like just another pumpkin scent, but with a smoky note. But melted, it's fantastic. I smell mostly cinnamon, but it's an authentic cinnamon powder scent, not a sweet candy or an annoying cinnamon scent. I also smell a little bit of salty pumpkin in the background, and no smokiness.

Throw: Very good, 3.5 out of 5



Apple Cinnamon Cider

Notes: A spicy blend of apple cider with cinnamon, cloves and wedges of orange and lemon

This smells like light apple cider, like sweet apple juice with a little spice (not a harsh mulling spices cider scent). Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell orange and lemon, although maybe a smidgeon of orange way in the background.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Banana Walnut Bread

Notes: Fresh from the oven, warm banana bread flavors the room with cinnamon, nutmeg, and a dash of vanilla. It's just like the family favorite.

My favorite scent of the bunch! I believe this one is available year-round. It's a fantastic banana scent with a walnut note and sweet vanilla cake.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Beautiful Fall Pumpkins

This smells a lot like the Better Home & Gardens Enchanted Pumpkin Valley scent (which is discontinued). I smell pumpkin spice but also some kind of earthy savory spice that I can't figure out. Ginger? Sage? It's not spicy like peppery or cinnamon spice, but there's a bit of a harshness to the scent. I really wish I knew the scent notes in this one. Like most of the scents in the new fall line, this was only "okay" for me.

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Bountiful Harvest

Notes: The rich scents of the fall harvest layered with cinnamon

This just smells like pumpkin pie, with a little bit of a bready note.

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Cool Autumn Nights

Notes: The autumn evening invites with brisk earthiness and dreamy interludes of lavender and woodland notes. Top: Bergamot, Grapefruit, Black Peppercorn; Mid: Lavender, Maple Leaf; Base: Vetiver, Oak

A subtle men's cologne scent with a light wood note. It's not overly sweet or "cologney", so even if you don't like cologne scents you might like this one. I think this is the same scent as Yankee's regular "Crisp Fall Night" scent.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Cozy Corner

Notes: Curl up with the fragrance of soft pillows and casual throws on a comforting afternoon.

This smells like a nice fabric softener scent with a perfumey gardenia note and a warm cashmere note that smells like a smidgen of suntan oil. Very nice.

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5 (which is better than the "poor" throw of the Yankee American Home line in February 2017, which I reviewed at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2017/02/yankee-american-home-scented-wax-melts-reviews.html).



Creamy Pumpkin Cupcake

Notes: A rich, buttery recipe of pumpkin frosting on a cupcake warm from the oven.

This smells like pumpkin pie and vanilla buttercream. Great scent!

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Delicious Cranberry
(added 9/20/17 - not shown in picture)

Notes: Sweet and wonderful, natural cranberry is blended with vanilla and sugar cane

Crisp clear sweet tart cranberry with nothing added. Smells like cranberry juice. Fantastic!

Throw: Excellent, 4 or 4.5 out of 5 (same as the throw from the old rectangular clamshell (which I reviewed in December 2015 at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2015/12/yankee-american-home-wax-cubes-walmart.html).



Fresh Balsam Fir

Notes: The crisp, clean alpine scent of balsam with a hint of cedar

A nice Christmas tree scent. It's not a harsh biting pine, more like a softer slightly smoky spruce. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell cedar, which would be a sweet woodsy scent. But it does have a very slight "clean" note.

Throw: Very good, 3.5 out of 5



Homemade Pumpkin Pie

Notes: Rich pumpkin pie loaded with cinnamon, nutmeg and everything delicious

A nice, but typical, pumpkin pie scent. Actually more like pumpkin bread, since there's a bit more of a bready note than I usually get from pumpkin pie scents.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Mandarin Orange
(added 9/20/17 - not shown in picture)

Notes: The fresh scent of an orange, peeled and separated and just begging to be popped into your mouth

It's a nice orange scent, not much more to say. A bit fake, but pretty much the same type of orange scent that a lot of orange scented wax melts smell like.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Pumpkin Apple Harvest

Notes: Cinnamon and nutmeg, fall's rich baking spices, are layered with crisp red apples and pumpkin that's been sliced and sprinkled with a pinch of brown sugar

This is almost the exact same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Farm Apple Pumpkin. Even the wax is a similar color. This scent is very slightly richer and sweeter though. It's a strong sweet apple scent, but more of an apple cider than straight apple, or even the inside of an apple pie. I smell some spice like nutmeg and perhaps a touch of cinnamon, and that's what gives this a smidgen of a pumpkin pie note. Fantastic scent! But because the Better Homes & Gardens version is a scent monster with a throw of 5 out of 5, and it costs $2.00 instead of $2.93 for the Yankee scent, if you like this scent then go for the Better Homes & Gardens Farm Apple Pumpkin.

Throw: Very good, 3.5 out of 5



Pumpkin Berry Parfait

This scent, and the Pumpkin Apple Harvest, are my two favorites of this line. They smell almost exactly the same to me. Pumpkin Berry Parfait smells like apples with the richness of a tiny bit of pumpkin spice, and there might also be a hint of some kind of berry. I can't tell what the berries are from the picture on the label, maybe cranberry? When melted, I also detect a tea note, and a hint of peach. It's a sweet, rich, fantastic scent.

Throw: Very good, 3.5 out of 5



Shades of Fall

Notes: the crisp swish of fallen leaves around your boots, the woody scent of juniper and the last amber rays of warm sunlight on a cooling afternoon

This is a slightly smoky scent with a smidgeon of warm perfume, but it's not really a sweet scent. It's really hard to describe, but it's very nice and relaxing. Looking at the scent notes, I don't detect juniper or pine at all, although that may be where the smoky note comes from.

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Sparkling Cinnamon Spice

Notes: A bundle of cinnamon, rich and spicy, with a swirl of citrus to make it sparkle

I smell cinnamon and a little bit of clove, and there's also a very slight "fizzy" note, like cinnamon soda, if such a thing existed. There may also be a smidgen of some kind of berry note. I'm not a fan of straight cinnamon, but this is kind of a "refreshing" take on cinnamon. Looking at the scent notes, I don't really smell citrus.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Vanilla Spiced Pumpkin

This smells like a combination of gingerbread and pumpkin pie. It's a nice fall scent.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Warming Pumpkin Cream

Another pumpkin pie type scent. This one doesn't have as much pumpkin pie spice as other pumpkin pie scents I've smelled, and there's a smidgen of some other note in there, maybe a different spice. It's very similar to Bountiful Harvest, but a little sweeter and without the bready note.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

And if you are a U.S. based wax company (retail or vendor) and would like me to review your scented wax melts, please leave a comment below, or on YouTube, with your company name and contact information. This website gets an average of 3,000 NEW visits per month in the U.S.

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Hanna's Candle Pumpkin Palooza Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Hanna's Candle Pumpkin Palooza Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews

These Hanna's Candle wax melts are only available in their new smaller 1.25 oz. size (like Walmart's Mainstays wax melts). But unlike the Mainstays melts, which are soft and messy, the Hanna's melts use hard wax. Hanna's Candle (CandleMart) melts can be found on their website at https://candlemart.com/collections/candles-melts/no-wick.

Hanna's Candle Pumpkin Palooza Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Watch video below:




Cinnamon Pumpkin Tart

Notes: Fresh pumpkin, clove, nutmeg, cinnamon bark, vanilla whipped cream, golden graham

Review: This is mostly a cinnamon scent, but it's a nice "cinnamon powder" cinnamon roll type scent. Sweet and a little rich, with a little clove and nutmeg. It's a very nice scent, not a harsh "Big Red" or "Red Hot" cinnamon scent at all. I'm not a fan of straight cinnamon scents, and I like this one!

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Creamy Pumpkin Butter

Notes: Fresh pumpkin, cardamom, nutmeg and pure vanilla extract

Review: A sweet rich buttery pumpkin scent with nutmeg, but not overly spicy, and not nauseatingly rich, and not really salty either like a lot of pumpkin scents can be. Very nice!

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Caramel Parfait

Notes: Pumpkin spice blended with buttery caramel, honeyed cream and vanilla.

Review: A sweet caramely vanilla scent with a hint of pumpkin spice. It's not overly rich and doesn't have the salty notes that a lot of pumpkiny scents have.

Throw: Very Good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Sweet Pumpkin Roll

Notes: Brown Sugar combines with buttercream and sweet lemon to create a complex fragrance laced with pumpkin accord, ginger, and nutmeg with hints of vanilla, pecan, and sugarcane

Review: This is the same as the Mainstays Pecan Pumpkin Cake scent from Walmart (which is also a dupe for Bath & Body Works Pumpkin Pecan Waffle). Fun Fact: Mainstays melts are made by both MVP Group Intl. and Hanna's Candle. MVP Group Intl. also makes wax melts for Colonial Candles, Living Colors (Big Lots), True Living (Dollar General), K-Mart and Sears brands, and some dollar store brands. I don't know which scents are provided by which manufacturer, but clearly the Mainstays Pecan Pumpkin Cake is made by Hanna's Candle. It's a super rich milky caramel scent with a nutty note. Looking at the scent notes, yep, there's the nuttiness of the pecan. I don't smell lemon at all. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Excellent, 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

And if you are a U.S. based wax company (retail or vendor) and would like me to review your scented wax melts, please leave a comment below, or on YouTube, with your company name and contact information. This website gets an average of 3,000 NEW visits per month in the U.S.

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Big Lots Living Colors Dual Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Big Lots Living Colors Dual Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Big Lots Living Colors Dual Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Watch video below:


Big Lots came out with their 4 Dual Scented Wax Melts in July 2017, and then came out with 4 new scents in August. I reviewed the July scents at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2017/07/big-lots-24-dual-scented-wax-melts-reviews.html. The wax is soft and greasy and messy, same as the ones that came out in July. It's very difficult to get the cubes out of the package.



Toasted Marshmallow + Campfire

Toasted Marshmallow
This is a very nice scent, but it's not marshmallow. It smells like a warm, rich vanilla cookie with pumpkin spice (nutmeg and a hint of cinnamon). It's not pumpkiny enough to smell like pumpkin pie, but more like vanilla pumpkin cookies. Throw was very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

Campfire
Another nice scent, but it doesn't smell like a campfire. It's smoky, but not a smoky wood type scent, more like a smoky foodie scent with a slightly chemical note. There might be a smidgen of pine? It's an okay scent, and throw was fair, 2.5 out of 5.



Pumpkin Custard + Fall Cottage

Pumpkin Custard
This is very similar to the Toasted Marshmallow scent, although a little sweeter and more pumpkiny. Throw was fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5.

Fall Cottage
An apple cinnamon scent with perhaps a smidgen of wood. It's not overly sweet, a nice fall scent. Throw was not good, 2 or 2.5 out of 5.



Crisp Air + Warm Birchwood

Crisp Air
A soapy salty scent. It smells like soap, but more of an industrial soap since it's not sweet at all. It's kind of bland. Throw was not good, 2 or 2.5 out of 5.

Warm Birchwood
This is very light on cold sniff so I can't figure out what I'm smelling. Maybe a cologney type scent with a hint of wood? Throw was poor, 1 out of 5, and I could barely smell it even from a foot away.



Amaretto Cheesecake + Cozy Blanket

Amaretto Cheesecake
This one is very strong on cold sniff, a yummy sweet amaretto/almond scent, my favorite scent of the bunch. I don't smell cheesecake though, but that's okay. And throw is excellent, 4 out of 5.

Cozy Blanket
This one is very light on cold sniff, so I can't figure out what I'm smelling. It's a perfumey or body wash scent with a slight bitterness, and a hint of a chemical note. Because of the bitter chemical note, I don't care for this one. Throw is fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

And if you are a U.S. based wax company (retail or vendor) and would like me to review your scented wax melts, please leave a comment below, or on YouTube, with your company name and contact information. This website gets an average of 3,000 NEW visits per month in the U.S.

Thursday, August 24, 2017

Glade Warm Flannel Embrace Scented Wax Melts Review

Glade Warm Flannel Embrace Scented Wax Melts Review

Glade Warm Flannel Embrace Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

I did a quick video review of this new Glade Warm Flannel Embrace scented wax melt on our "Scented Wax Melts Retail" Facebook group, at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1360627397388419/. You must be a member of the group to view it, discuss, and comment on others' posts. Come and join us! We are a fun, active group with over 2,250 U.S. members, and growing!

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Sonoma Scented Wax Melts Reviews from Kohl's - Fall 2017

Sonoma Scented Wax Melts Reviews from Kohl's - Fall 2017

Sonoma Scented Wax Melts from Kohl's - Fall 2017
Click to enlarge

Watch video below:



Brown Sugar Peaches

Notes: Peaches, salted caramel, brown sugar and vanilla

This scent came out last year and I didn't buy it because it smells weird to me on cold sniff. And it still does. I don't smell peaches or brown sugar. It's a salty savory scent with just a hint of sweetness. My roommate says it smells like roasted chicken, and I agree! I don't like this one.

Throw: Poor, 2 out of 5


Cherry Blossom

Notes: Cherry blossom, jasmine and vanilla

This is a true cherry blossom scent, sweeter than other similar scents, and with a slight warmth. It's a bit perfumey, like a luxurious women's body wash. Beautiful fragrance! I love cherry blossom scents, but no matter what company makes cherry blossom scented wax melts, the throw is usually not good.

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5


Coconut Pumpkin

Notes: Cinnamon and spice dipped in a buttery blend of vanilla, coconut and cardamom.

This smells like vanilla buttercream marshmallow scent with just a smidgeon of pumpkin spice. I don't detect coconut, and it's not a pumpkin scent either. It's a different scent from White Pumpkin Marshmallow; this scent actually smells more marshmallowy than White Pumpkin Marshmallow, and it's sweeter and less pumpkiny. I like this scent better.

Throw: Very Good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5


Cozy Mountain Retreat

Notes: Creamy sandalwood and fresh bergamot

I can't figure out the notes in this one. It's kind of a fresh body wash scent with a warm ambery note and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of pine. It's very nice.

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5


Eucalyptus & Mint Leaf

Notes: Eucalyptus, mint leaf and bergamot

This smells a lot like ScentSationals Zen, but a little less sweet and slightly more eucalyptus. It's a nice relaxing spa scent with a fresh herbal note and a smidgeon of mint, but not "toothpaste" or peppermint, more like fresh mint.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5


Farmstand Blueberries

Notes: Blueberries, geraniums and oranges topped with vanilla and sandalwood.

Despite the name, this is not a fruity scent. It's more of a sweet perfumey scent with a warm blackberry type note, similar to Scentsy Luna or ScentSationals Blackberry Cider or Goose Creek Blackberry Parfait. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Not Good, 2 out of 5


Fireside Memories

Notes: Pumpkin, caramel, vanilla, tobacco and smoked woods

This smells like marshmallow with a hint of caramel I think, and just a smidgen of barely noticeable smokiness. Very nice!

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5


Lakeside Campfire

Note: A warm blend of mulled apples, smoky cinnamon, clove, birchwood and campfire

An oceany scent that smells like a nice fresh shower gel. It's not very sweet, and actually has a very slight salty note, so it's a little different from other fresh watery scents. Refreshing! Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell apples, cinnamon, clove or smoky campfire notes at all. I think the scent notes on the Kohl's website are wrong.

Throw: Very Good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5


Lavender Blossom

Notes: Lavender, fir and dew-covered herbs

This is an authentic lavender scent. It has a slight medicinal quality, but it also has a hint of sweetness that helps to temper the medicinal quality. I thought I detected a little bit of eucalyptus, and now that I see the scent notes, it's probably the fir I'm smelling, although I don't specifically smell fir (pine).

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5


Mahogany & Cedar

Notes: Mahogany, spices and amber

A nice men's cologne scent with a soapy note and slight woodsy note (but not smoky) and a hint of warmth (amber?). It's not overly sweet or overly "cologney", so even if you don't like cologne scents, you might like this one.

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5


Sandalwood Cotton

Notes: Sandalwood, white cotton and musk

A warm musky men's cologne scent with a hint of wood and a slightly musty note. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell the cotton and this is not a laundry type scent.

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5


Soft Cotton

Notes: Cotton blossom, linen and sweet musk

A laundry scent but a bit more perfumey than laundry, although not overly sweet. A bit different from other laundry scents in that it has a bit of a musk note. It's not a harsh laundry detergent scent.

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5


Sugared Vanilla

Notes: Creamy vanilla, sweet sugar and nutmeg

This is just vanilla. It's a nice sweet milky vanilla, not a bakery scent (no cookie or cupcake notes). I don't detect nutmeg at all.

Throw: None, 0 out of 5, and couldn't even smell it from a few inches away while melting.


Thankful Harvest

Notes: Green apple, white cedar, pine and ambered thyme.

This is a nice slightly sour apple scent with maybe a smidgen of wood, not too sour, and with a little sweetness. It's a nice fall scent. Looking at the scent notes, yes, now I do smell pine.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5


Toasted Marshmallow

Notes: Sweet vanilla marshmallows toasted over a crackling campfire

This is a milky marshmallow scent, sweet but not overly sweet. I guess it does have a bit of a "toasted" quality to it, like a little bit of smokiness. It's quite similar to Fireside Memories, but it's milky (Fireside Memories does not have a milky note) and not as sweet, and no caramely note.

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5


Tranquil Waters

Notes: Sparkling coastal waters, citrus and sea-salted woods

A fresh, crisp men's body wash scent with a hint of floral. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell citrus per se, but maybe that's what's contributing to the crispness of this scent.

Throw: Very Good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5


Vanilla Pumpkin Latte

Notes: Brown sugar, pumpkin, vanilla, clove and cinnamon

Fantastic super creamy coffee scent with a sweet vanilla note and a smidgeon of pumpkin spices and maybe a hint of caramel. It's definitely a coffee scent rather than a fall or pumpkin scent. It's very similar to their older "Pumpkin Latte" scent, but with a slightly creamier note. The notes on the Kohl's website don't show coffee at all, but this is absolutely a coffee scent!

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the whole house!


White Pumpkin Marshmallow

Notes: Pumpkin and vanilla marshmallows with a blend of clove, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger

This smells just like the scent name... sweet marshmallow with pumpkin spices. Very nice!

Throw: Very Good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5


Woodland Berry

Notes: Pomegranate, plum wood, crushed leaves, red oak and vanilla

This is a fantastic woodsy piney scent with a little bit of a berry note, maybe cranberry. It's a bit tart and not very sweet. It's similar to last year's Winter Berry Spruce but not as tart and not as much spruce. Looking at the scent notes, the "berry" note I smell is actually pomegranate. I'm surprised I don't see pine in the notes, but I guess it's the wood notes I'm smelling rather than actual pine.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

If you are a U.S. based wax company (retail or vendor) and would like me to review your scented wax melts, please leave a comment below, or on YouTube, with your company name and contact information. This website gets an average of 3,000 NEW visits per month in the U.S.

Sunday, August 20, 2017

My Scented Wax Melts Collection - Over 1,200 Wax Melts!

My Scented Wax Melts Collection - Over 1,200 Wax Melts!

I'm addicted to scented wax melts, and my collection is probably the largest that anyone has ever seen! I Below are videos of ALL my scented wax melts. Because I have so many, I did 2 videos.

Part 1 of 2


Part 2 of 2


In September 2015 I did a one-hour video of all my wax (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvDNCs0pP_g&t=192s), as well as 10-minute "teaser" video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gV_ygRj045U&t=1s), so the 2 videos above are an update because I have a lot of new wax.

If you have questions about any particular brand or scent you see in my collection, feel free to contact me (post a comment below or under my YouTube video, or in our Facebook group).

Check out my reviews of scented wax melts at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com. And if you want to discuss store-bought/retail brand scented wax melts like ScentSationals, Better Homes & Gardens, Mainstays, Hanna's Candles (CandleMart), Goose Creek Candle, Sonoma, Tuscany Candle, Ashland, Yankee, and more, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail

If you are a U.S. based wax company (retail or vendor) and would like me to review your scented wax melts, please leave a comment below, or on my YouTube channel, or PM me on Facebook after you join our group. Include your company name and contact information. My scentedwaxreviews.com website gets an average of 3,000 NEW visits per month in the U.S.!

Hope you enjoy my videos and viewing my wax melt collection. Yes, I have a real problem, lol, but I suppose there are worse things to be addicted too, lol!

Sassy Kandle Co. Wax Melt Tarts Reviews

Sassy Kandle Co. Wax Melt Tarts Reviews

Sassy Kandle Co. Wax Melt Tarts
Click to enlarge

Watch video below:


Sassy Kandle Co. is a candle and wax melt vendor based in Windsor, Colorado. Sara, the company owner, was a pleasure to work with, very polite and professional. She puts a lot of work and effort into her products, and it shows. Sassy Kandle Co. has a website at https://www.sassykandle.com, an Etsy page at https://www.etsy.com/shop/SassyKandleCo, and a Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SassyKandleCo.

I really enjoyed these wax melts. The scents were fantastic, and I even like the iridescent, very slightly glittery labels on the clamshells. The wax was very soft and hard to get out of the package though. I had to use a butter knife to pry out a cube, but it wasn't a big deal.



Autumn Lodge

Description: A fireside glow of freshly cut cedar and oak, mixed with fir needle, patchouli, bayberry, tobacco and vanilla.

My Review:
I smell patchouli first, then maybe tobacco, and cedar I think, and some other notes in the background I can't figure out. There's an old perfume note in there as well, but in a good way. Fantastic earthy scent, different from other patchouli scents I've smelled. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell fir needle, but the bayberry and vanilla I might detect just a tad.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Black Pepper & Rosemary

Description: A warm, spicy black peppercorn blend married with the cool and crisp notes of rosemary. Includes notes of bergamot & oakmoss

My Review:
A nice crisp fresh peppery herbal scent, not really sweet, and smells like it might have a hint of lemongrass in it. I also detect a smidgen of mint, even though it's not in the scent notes

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Country Apple

Description: Country fresh picked crunchy orchard apples bursting with sweet juices. Nuances of ripe peach, lime, pear and golden honey round out this delightful fragrance.

My Review:
Lovely fresh apple scent with sweet caramel note.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Cowboy

Description: This is our signature fragrance. It is a pure masculine blend with a hint of leather.

My Review:
Leather with a men's cologne note. It's a bit different from most "cowboy" type scents I've smelled in that it doesn't have a smoky note, which is good.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Cranberry Citrus

Description: A blend of tart cranberries, juicy red grapefruit, tangy tangerine, sweet orange, and lemon-lime.

My Review:
This smells like a refreshing cranberry and orange soda. A little tart, a little sweet, and a little citrusy.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Exotic Patchouli

Description: The classic mix of earthy patchouli blended with an energizing and fruity mix

My Review:
I definitely smell the patchouli first, but there's another note in there that I can't figure out. Maybe a creamy vanilla peach note? Looking at the scent notes, okay there's the "fruity mix". Even though I don't really smell fruit per se. I'm not a fan of this one. Even though it's patchouli, the combination of notes gives it an old perfume scent, and not in a good way.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out o5



Ginger Apple Harvest

Description: A balance between crisp apples, warm ginger, sandalwood, vanilla, nutmeg, sweet pumpkin and cinnamon make this a perfect fall blend!

My Review:
This is a slightly sour overripe apple scent, like an apple that fell on the ground. It also has a bit of an apple cider note with a little spice. And it also has a sweet caramel note. So it's a different type of fall apple scent than others I've smelled, and I really like it!

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Great Tea & Sage

Description: A tranquil blend of green tea and earthy sage.  Notes of pink grapefruit and lemon tea with oakmoss and musk.

My Review:
This is a nice fresh soapy scent like a body wash with herbal notes and a slight floral note. It's sweet but not overly sweet. Looking at the scent notes, I think I detect a smidgeon of tea and musk and maybe even a tiny bit of grapefruit, but no sage. Not sure about the lemon; if it's in there it's very faint, as I don't detect any citrus at all. Melted, it kind of smells like baby powder with an herbal note, or ScentSationals Zen mixed with baby powder.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



French Bread

Description: Smell the aroma of warm, fresh baked french bread, dripping with melted, creamy butter.  Smells so true to the real thing you can almost taste it!

My Review:
This smells just like fresh bread or dinner rolls, with a little salty butter. It's a truly authentic scent!

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Indonesian Teak Wood

Description: A supple wood, mild in fragrance, similar to sandalwood -- soft, earthy & exotic.

My Review:
A light pleasant slightly perfumey scent with a hint of light wood and maybe a smidgen of patchouli or some other incense type note.

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Lavender

Description: A fresh lavender fragrance oil, this fragrance is well rounded and pretty with soft flowery notes.

My Review:
This is a perfect lavender scent. It's not medicinal, yet it's not too sweet or perfumey. It's an authentic lavender scent with a slight floral note. Very nice!

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Poppyseed

Description: Aroma of freshly-baked lemon poppyseed muffins.  Notes of lemon syrup, poppyseed muffin, brown sugar, marshmallow fluff and vanilla cake batter

My Review:
A nice sweet lemon bakery scent with a hint of buttercream, but also a smidgen of lemon dish detergent, in a good way.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Lemongrass Sage

Description: Grassy notes of lemon blended with sage to envelope the senses. Earthy yet clean.

My Review:
A fantastic clean lemon scent with an herbal and salty note, and maybe a smidgen of pepper.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Lilac Blossoms

Description: As close to a fresh bouquet of lilac flowers as you can get - a springtime favorite!

My Review:
This is not an authentic lilac scent, more like a perfumey lilac, although not overly sweet, maybe like lilac scented soap. It smells great though!

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Lotus Bamboo

Description: Sweet and exotic. A complex and clean fragrant blend of bamboo, grapefruit zest, succulent mango and sandalwood.

My Review:
This is a nice soapy scent with an herbal note. It's not very sweet. Looking at the scent notes, I smell the bamboo, and the light woodsiness of the sandalwood. But I don't smell mango at all, or grapefruit.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Midwest Stormwatch

Description: A clean scent with floral and mild spice notes.  A hard one to describe, but a very popular fragrance.

My Review:
This smells clean and oceany and herbal and very slightly cologney and with perhaps a smidgen of honeysuckle and mint. No one note really stands out, but the combination is very nice.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Monkey Bread

Description: Rich, buttery brioche spiced with cinnamon and slathered with layers of caramel pecan icing.

My Review:
Fantastic, authentic scent of a sweet rich cinnamon maple bread.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Red Hot Cinnamon

Description: Aroma of classic red hot cinnamon candies - a seasonal favorite!

My Review:
This is straight cinnamon with a sweet candy note. Just like Red Hot Cinnamon candies!

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5



San Francisco Bay

Description: Memories of the San Francisco bay!  Sea spray, ocean air, driftwood, moss, sage and oud wood

My Review:
I'm not sure what I'm smelling but I really like it! It's a super fresh subtlely sweet scent with a fresh clean note, as well as a floral, and a creamy note, and maybe a smidgen of lemon? Looking at the scent notes, I do detect a little bit of wood, but not that bitter resinous oud wood note at all.

Throw: Poor, 2 out of 5



If you are a U.S. based wax company (retail or vendor) and would like me to review your scented wax melts, please leave a comment below, or on YouTube, with your company name and contact information. This website gets an average of 3,000 NEW visits per month in the U.S.

Friday, August 18, 2017

Goose Creek Wax Melts Reviews - August 2017

Goose Creek Wax Melts Reviews - August 2017

Goose Creek Wax Melts - August 2017
Click to enlarge

Watch video below:

I melted these in my 24W warmer (instead of my usual 20W warmer), as I was told by a Goose Creek rep that their wax prefers a higher temperature.

These new scents should be appearing on the Goose Creek Candle website within the next two weeks.


Brown Butter Pistachio

Description: This decadent mix of brown butter and pistachio is infused with delicious accords of creamy coconut, marshmallow fluff, sugar crystals and tonka beans. Nuances of cherry almonds complete this mouthwatering fragrance experience.

This is one is my favorites! It's a pistachio/almond scent with a rich sweet vanilla buttercream note but it also has a slight perfumey or floral note. So even though this is definitely a foodie scent, the perfumey note makes it a little less foodie, but also unique in that it doesn't smell like every other sweet bakery type scent out there. It's a bit similar to the White Chocolate Buttercream scent but with the main note being the nutty pistachio (and of course no chocolate).

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or maybe 4 out of 5.


French Toast

Description: It's breakfast time! A delicious blend of melted butter, warm maple syrup and slow roasted pecans is hard to resist

Rich, bready and buttery with a slight maple syrup note and a smidgeon of cinnamon, this smells just like warm french toast. It's not overly sweet, so it doesn't have that fake note that a lot of similar scents have.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, scent monster that took over the entire house.


Homemade Brownies

Description: A delicious blend of milk chocolate chips and a baked cake accord for the ultimate mouthwatering scent.

This really smells like freshly baked gooey fudgey brownies! It's a fantastic rich chocolate scent with a buttery note. It doesn't smell like a chocolate bar or chocolate cake or chocolate cupcakes, it's not overly sweet, and it doesn't have that burnt note that a lot of chocolate scents have. If I smelled it not knowing the scent name, I would say "brownies"!

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5.


Moment in Time

Description: A treasured blend of fresh strawberry and juicy citrus, layered with the complex notes of warm vanilla and creamy musk.

This smells like pine and lavender with a smidgeon of a cologne note. Very nice scent. I don't detect any fruity notes at all though!

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5, so it's best for a smaller room.


Staying Home

Description: Indulge in the comforts of home with this inviting fragrance blending bergamot, mandarin and cashmere with a heart of jasmine, sweet amber, orris and figolide. A warming combination of patchouli, musk, shea, sandalwood and creamy accents of vanilla and tonka makes you want to stay forever.

This is a slightly perfumey scent, not overly sweet, and I can't figure out the specific notes. I think I detect lavender, and maybe also a smidgeon of lemon and pine. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Poor, 1 or 1.5 out of 5, and within a half hour I could barely smell it even from a few inches a way.


White Chocolate Buttercream

Description: A decadent blend of semi-sweet chocolate, sugared vanilla beans and creamy caramel blended with indulgent whipped buttercream icing and finished with sparkling sugar notes.

I love this one! On cold sniff it smells like sweet vanilla buttercream with a hint of chocolate and a slight smidgeon of a perfumey note. But when melted it smells even better, like a yummy sweet rich milk chocolate buttercream without any perfumey notes.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

If you are a U.S. based wax company (retail or vendor) and would like me to review your scented wax melts, please leave a comment below with your company name and contact information. This website gets an average of 3,000 NEW visits per month in the U.S.!

Saturday, August 12, 2017

ScentSationals Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews

ScentSationals Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews

ScentSationals Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Watch video below:



This is a review of the ScentSationals Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts from Walmart (which may also be available on the ScentSationals website at http://www.scentsationals.com). I don't have the scent notes yet, but I will add them later if and when they show up on the Walmart or ScentSationals website. I also did a separate review of the new Better Homes & Gardens Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts.



Apple Butter

Notes: Sweet harvest apple, sparkling pear, with warm notes of cognac and brown sugar-vanilla

A nice tart apple that actually smells more like pear, with a smidgeon of sweet caramel. I think this really smells like apple butter, although some people have said it's not a authentic because it doesn't have enough spices (I haven't had apple butter in many years, so I forget!). Melted, it does smell more like the juice of tart pears with just a little sweetness, and I don't smell as much of the caramel. It's a nice scent! Looking at the scent notes... there's the pear!

Throw: Very Good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5 (although several people are saying this did not throw well for them)



Black Tux

This is a dupe of a much older scent but I don't know which one (it's not ScentSationals Ebony Woods or ScentSationals Rebel). It's a nice fresh cologne scent that's not overly sweet and has just a smidgeon of smokiness. Melted, it's fresh but yet kind of "dark" with maybe a barely detectable smidgeon of leather or something similar. Even if you don't like cologne scents, you might like this one because it's not too sweet or overly cologney. I can't find the scent notes online.

Throw: Excellent, 4 out of 5, and lasted at least 12 hours!



Cranberry Oatmeal Cookie

Notes: A full bodied and smooth fragrance blended with creamy oatmeal, fresh juicy red currant berries, butterscotch, farm-fresh milk notes, nutty almond and rich vanilla

This is going to be everyone's new favorite. Hoard this one! I smell cranberry first, but it's kind of a candyish cranberry, sweet and sugary and slightly tart, but not that bitter tartness that can be offputting with a lot of cranberry scents. I also smell the oatmeal and maybe a smidgeon of nuts, and a sweet rich slightly buttery cookie note. It's a tiny bit similar to last year's Better Homes & Gardens Cranberry Cookie Crumble. Cranberry Cookie Crumble was a rich buttery vanilla cookie scent with a slight berry note and a smidgeon of nut and caramel. But with the new Cranberry Oatmeal Cookie, I smell the cranberry first, with that slight tartness, plus oatmeal, and the cookie note is not as buttery. Looking at the scent notes, it doesn't actually contain a cranberry scent, but a red currant berry scent (which is not as sweet or tart as cranberries). And there's almond, the nutty note I'm detecting.

Throw: Very Good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Harvest Moon

Notes: Super sweet, freshly sliced McIntosh apples wrapped with a cinnamon spice and pumpkin complex sweetened with caramel fragrance

This smells a lot like the Pumpkin Apple Muffins scent so of course I like it. It's not nearly as salty as Pumpkin Apple Muffins though (which smells like really salty pretzels), although it does have a salty note, and the main note is apple cider with some mulling spices. It's like apple cider mixed with a little Pumpkin Apple Muffins. Or salty pretzels made with apple cider (if there were such a thing).

Throw: Very Good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Honey Crisp Cider

Notes: Warm notes of ground cinnamon, peppered clove, and roasted nutmeg swirl with the essence of sweet cider apples and brown sugared vanilla bean

The first time I smelled this on cold sniff, I thought it was not a typical cider scent, but more like super sweet apple juice with just a hint of cider, and a smidgeon of woodsiness but not smoky. But now that I'm sniffing it again the next day, it's definitely cider, with that slightly sour mulling spices note, but I do smell a hint of wood in the background. Melted, though, it just smells like apple cider with mulling spices.

Throw: Very Good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Praline Spice

Notes: Fresh chopped pecans stirred with cinnamon sugar and drizzled in creamy butter caramel infused with vanilla bean and sweet toffee

The label says "Cinnamon Bark & Vanilla Cream" even though there's a chocolate macaroon on the label! It's a super rich sweet cinnamon caramel scent with a slightly salty note. Very nice! Even if you don't care for cinnamon scents, you might really like this one as it smells a bit like a Cinnabon cinnamon roll. Actually, I think this is the same scent as an older ScentSationals scent called Cinnamon Bun. It also smells almost exactly like Better Homes & Gardens Vanilla Caramel Spice, although Praline Spice is a little better, slightly richer and saltier.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, took over the entire house.



Pumpkin Patch Maze

Notes: Fresh harvest pumpkin gently lifted by the woody aroma of turning leaves and woodland bark infused with the earthy evergreen scent of pinecones

This is a super salty, rich scent like a fresh pretzel with tons of salt on it. It's not very sweet. I liked it when I first sniffed it, but this morning when I sniffed it, it's like salt overload. Even before it was finished melting, I started smelling it throughout the house, but I had to remove it as it was way too salty and rich for me. Someone pointed out that this is the same as the old ScentSationals "Roasted Chestnuts" scent, and sniffing them side by side, they're almost exactly the same, except I detect a nutty note in Roasted Chestnuts that I really like, but I don't detect that note in Pumpkin Patch Maze.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, took over the entire house.



Pumpkin Spice

Notes: A creamy harvest pumpkin gleaming with spicy hints of warm cinnamon and aromatic clove over delightfully rich vanilla, smooth buttercream and a touch of brown sugar

This is an older scent that comes back every fall. It's a nice typical pumpkin pie type scent that smells a little more like pumpkin bread. In fact, a picture of pumpkin bread is on the label. Sweet, salty, pumpkiny and bready with just a smidgeon of cinnamon and nutmeg.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, scent monster that took over the entire house



Red Hot Cinnamon

Notes: Aromatic notes of bright red hot cinnamon accented by crushed clove bud, sweet allspice, and a touch of shimmering nutmeg

This is an older scent that has returned. It's pure cinnamon with a sweet candy note and a bit of "heat", like red hot cinnamon candies. It smells almost exactly like Better Homes & Gardens Spicy Cinnamon Stick (also an old scent that has returned), and may in fact be the same scent. But I think Red Hot Cinnamon has a slightly warmer note, like maybe a smidgeon of cloves. And looking at the scent notes, there's the cloves.

Throw: Very Good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Rustic Cabin Kitchen

Notes: Dark coffee laced with gently spiced cardamom and nutmeg swirls with oriental amber, coumarin, and smoked woods over rich vanilla bourbon supported by earthy patchouli, and hints of black tar softened with leather and cashmere

On cold sniff I smell patchouli along with a hint of a foodie note like caramel or vanilla. It smells a little like ScentSationals Patchouli Woods Fusion, mixed with a foodie note. It's not overly sweet, and it has a smidgen of a cologne note. Fantastic scent! Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell coffee, although there sure are a lot of notes in this one so coffee might be somewhere way in the background.

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5



Spiced Cupcakes

Notes: Fresh-from-the-oven cake spiced with sugared cinnamon, crushed clove, and bright ginger topped with cream cheese frosting and candied orange zest.

This smells just like gingerbread! What else can I say? It smells great!

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Welcome

Notes: Sweet orchard apple embellished with spicy clove, crushed cinnamon, tart cranberry, and a splash of winter pear gleams with rich nuances of aromatic evergreen and soft balsam

Not to be confused with the older scent called Welcome Home, this is a sour pungent apple scent with a slight woodsy note, like overripe (ok, spoiled) apples that have fallen on the ground. There might also be a hint of cloves and a very slightly soapy note. It's only very slightly sweet, but barely. This one is too sour and pungent for my tastes.

Throw: Excellent, 4 out of 5



'Tis The Season Duo
Perfectly Pine + Red Hot Cinnamon
I reviewed Perfectly Pine last year, and Red Hot Cinnamon above.



Cozy Retreat Duo
Honeycrisp Cider + Rustic Cabin Kitchen
I reviewed each of these scents above.



Home Is Where The Heart Is Duo
Welcome + Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies
I reviewed each of these scents above.



Some scents from last year have returned this year: Pumpkin Apple Muffins, Pumpkin Marshmallow Cream, and Perfectly Pine. I reviewed those last year (http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/08/walmart-scented-wax-melts-fall-2016-scentsationals-better-homes-gardens.html).



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.


Better Homes & Gardens Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart

Better Homes & Gardens Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart

Better Homes & Gardens Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts from Walmart
Click to enlarge

Watch video below:


This is a review of the Better Homes & Gardens Fall 2017 Scented Wax Melts from Walmart. I don't have the scent notes yet, but I will add them later if and when they show up on the Walmart website. I will also be doing a review of the ScentSationals Fall 2017 scents separately.



A Thankful Harvest

This scent came out several years ago and has returned this year. It's a very nice, rich, buttery pumpkin scent with a hint of nutmeg. It's not very sweet though, so not really like pumpkin pie, but more like the buttery crust of the pumpkin pie. I couldn't find scent notes for this one.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house



Around the Campfire

Notes: A cool fall evening breeze infused with caramelized marshmallows joins the scent of gently smoked hickory, birch and oak wood wrapped with ambered myrrh and olibanum.

A smoky salty sweet marshmallowy scent with a smidgen of a cologney note. I can smell the graham cracker! The marshmallow is not as "authentic" as I'd like though, but then again the scent name is just "Around the Campfire", although there's a picture of marshmallows over a campfire on the label. It's an "okay" scent to me, but not my favorite.

Looking at the scent notes, "olibanum" is another name for frankincense, which is a woody mentholic herbal medicinal tree sap scent. Myrrh is a resinous spicy balsamic scent. I think it's these two notes that make this scent smell a bit "off" for me. I don't like my marshmallows smelling like menthol or tree sap.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Aspen Evergreen Walk

Notes: Fresh notes of crushed fir needle, warm woods and luminous woodland herbs are cooled by a crisp, ozonic autumn breeze infused with soft wood smoke highlights and pure ambered musk.

A fresh crisp biting eucalyptus pine. I think this is the same scent as an old discontinued ScentSationals (and AmbiEscents) scent called Sugar Pine. It's a bit too "biting" for me.

Throw: Not Good, 2 or 2.5 out of 5, which is surprising for this type of scent.



Banana Pumpkin Bread

Notes: This delicious scent blends warm banana bread and pumpkin puree with golden honey, shaved cinnamon and brown sugar. Vanilla bean and caramel swirl infuses a creamy richness.

A rich buttery banana bread scent with a salted caramel note. OMG it's incredible! There may be a smidgen of pumpkin spice, but barely detectable. This is really not a pumpkin scent.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Cinnamon Apple Dumpling

Notes: Slow-baked orchard apples warmed with fresh-ground cinnamon, golden nutmeg and aromatic clove swirled in brown sugar, butter pastry and vanilla sugar

This is a dupe of an older apple pie type scent, maybe ScentSationals Warm Apple Pie, not sure. It's rich and sweet and apply with cinnamon and cloves and a bakery note, just like an apple pie. It's not a fake apple pie scent. Very nice.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house



Crisp Fall Leaves

Notes: Crisp autumn apple, lustrous greens and smooth woodland elements infused with balsamic evergreen, ambered leaves, juicy berry and cinnamon-spiced vanilla

This scent came out a few years ago and has returned. It's a biting, slightly sour pine scent with a sour woodsy note with a little smokiness. It smells a lot like ScentSationals Mountain Twilight. Looking at the scent notes, it might be the "balsamic" note that gives it the smoky sourness I don't like.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house



Fall Into Autumn

Notes: Golden acorns and crisp green apple that combine with warm notes of smooth applewood and red cedar nestled with aromatic leaves, white orchard pear and gently spiced harvest berry

This scent came out last year and has returned this year. The label shows apples and chestnuts. I do smell a little bit of apple, but it's like old apples that fell on the ground. It's not a sweet scent at all. It's sour and a little bit woodsy with a slight sagey pine note. It smells a little bit like Crisp Fall Leaves but not as biting, and with the slight apple note.

Throw:  Excellent, 4 out of 5



Farm Apple Pumpkin

Notes: Ripe and ready, farm fresh apples and pumpkins are an Autumn treasure

This scent came out in 2014 or 2015 I believe, and returns every year. It's a strong sweet apple scent, but more of an apple cider than straight apple, or even the inside of an apple pie. I smell some spice like nutmeg and perhaps a touch of cinnamon. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house



Fresh Cut Frasier

Notes: Fresh citrus, aromatic evergreen, and dazzling white fir combine with intriguing notes of gently smoked balsam, precious woods, and a dash of festive spice

This one has been around for several years but returns every year. It's a strong biting pine scent with a eucalyptus note. There's just a smidgen of sweetness in there, but barely detectable, like maybe a sweet vanilla or berry.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house



Moonlit Magic Pumpkin

Notes: Brilliant bergamot spun with moonlit woods and luminous greens float above clove spiced pumpkin fruit, floriental pumpkin flower, hints of incense and rich wood smoked embers.

This is really different! On cold sniff it smells like rich salty buttery scented men's cologne with a smidgeon of oud wood! Melted though, it's more like a combination of buttered popcorn and men's cologne. Kind of like the new ScentSationals Black Tux scent mixed with salty popcorn, and a hint of oud wood. It's not a sweet scent. I don't know if I like it or not. Should a man smell like popcorn? I guess it depends on how much you like popcorn! Looking at the scent notes, I guess it's the pumpkin that smells like popcorn to me.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house



Pumpkin Berry Tart

Notes: The sweet scent of dark berries overlay the warm spice of pumpkin cream

This smells like apples and blueberries with a little molasses and a bakery note and a little saltiness. There's a slight pumpkin note but not much.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Pumpkin Butter Cookies

Notes: A delectable harvest pumpkin medley interwoven with spicy nutmeg, powdered cinnamon and pure vanilla cream cookie dough sweetened with a sprinkle of rich brown sugar

On cold sniff this smells like bready oatmeal cookies with a smidgeon of cinnamon. It's quite similar to the new SS Praline Spice, but not as rich or buttery or salty. It smells a lot like BHG Vanilla Caramel Spice, but this scent also has a slight oatmeal note and maybe a smidgen of nutmeg. Melted, however, it smells almost exactly like SS Praline Spice and BHG Vanilla Caramel Spice and other similar sweet rich cinnamon bakery scents, and I don't notice the very slight note differences. It may in fact be the same scent. But it's still a fantastic scent!

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house



Pumpkin Maple Syrup

Notes: A delicious sugary, sweet blend infused pumpkin with maple syrup, salted caramel drizzle, praline swirl and cinnamon sugar for the perfect breakfast topping. Buttercream, warm vanilla sugar and sweet molasses adds further sweetness in this indulgent treat

Oh wow I like this! It's butterscotch maple syrup with a slight salty pancakey note.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Spiced Woodland Currant

A pine scent with a slight smoky note and a hint of berries I think. It has a slightly sour note but also a smidgen of sweetness (but it's not a sweet scent at all), and I swear I detect a hint of lemon. I really liked this one the first time I tried it. But when I melted it again, I noticed a vinegary note that I didn't like. I couldn't find scent notes for this one.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Spicy Cinnamon Stick

Notes: The scent of freshly ground cinnamon sticks embellished with pure notes of crushed clove essence, sweet nutmeg, and a sprinkle of festive allspice

This is an older scent that has returned. It's straight cinnamon with a sweet candy note, like a Red Hot Cinnamon candy. In fact, it smells almost exactly like ScentSationals Red Hot Cinnamon, except that scent has a bit of a "heat" note and maybe a smidgen of cloves, whereas this scent does not. Although looking at the scent notes, this scent has cloves too. Actually, the scent notes are very similar for both scents. ScentSationals Red Hot Cinnamon notes are "Aromatic notes of bright red hot cinnamon accented by crushed clove bud, sweet allspice, and a touch of shimmering nutmeg".

Throw: Excellent, 4 out of 5



Stormy Autumn Night

Notes: Radiant white lemon and aromatic herbs blend with dew-covered orchard apple, pink peppered cedar and soft autumn rain wrapped in ambered patchouli and cool touches of spiced olibanum (frankincense)

This is a men's cologne scent with a hint of sweet apple. I like it, it's different! I don't smell lemon.

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Sueded Cinnamon Woods

Notes: A warm blend of smoked cinnamon, winter woods, white cedar and vanilla suede with notes of salted caramel, golden butterscotch, brown sugar and tonka bean

On cold sniff I smell buttery coffee with honey and vanilla buttercream. I also smell the "suede" note (a warm ambery cashmere scent), but no cinnamon at all, which is good. Melted, I just smell a nice warm caramely cashmere scent (no coffee or honey or buttercream).

Throw: Fair, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Warm Apricot Cider

Notes: Apricot juice and warm cider blend together to create this delicious fragrance. Apple slices, juicy peach accord, cinnamon stick and mulled spices swirl together and lead into a creamy, sweet base of vanilla bean and brown sugar for the perfect finish

This smells like sweet peach flavored apple juice with a hint of tea. Looking at the scent notes, there's the peach (apricot).

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Warm Tobacco Leaf

Notes: Mandarin leaf, woodland greens and spiced plum combine with rich tobacco leaf and peppered amber amid aromatic hints of warm moss, earthy woods and brushed leather

A fantastic warm tobacco scent with a patchouli note. It has just a hint of sweetness, and a woodsy note (but not smoky). On cold sniff I detect a cologne note and a slight smokiness, but I don't smell these when melted. I don't smell mandarin (orange) at all.

Throw: Excellent, 4 out of 5



Winter Berry Zest

Notes: Dazzling red currant infused grapefruit, fresh rhubarb and sugared pomegranate meld with watery greens, hints of white pear and sugared orange

Super fresh orangey lemony cranberry scent with the crispness of a hint of pine. It's kind of tart, a little sour, just slightly sweet, and it smells fresh and clean. I can't decide if this is something I would want to drink or clean my house with, but either way I can't stop sniffing it! This is one of my favorite of the new scents because it's so "different". Definitely a winter scent rather than a fall scent.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house



Autumn After Stroll Duo
Golden Oak Leaves + Apples & Acorns

This duo came out a few years ago and has returned this year. The Golden Oak Leaves side is a strong sagey pine scent that smells a lot like ScentSationals Mountain Twilight or Better Homes & Gardens Crisp Fall Leaves. The Apples & Acorns side smells like tart slightly sour apples, similar to the new ScentSationals Welcome scent but with different notes.

Throw: Excellent, 4 out of 5 (both scents)



Comfy & Cozy Duo
Fleece + Flannel

This duo came out a few years ago and has returned this year. Despite its name, this is more of a fresh air type duo than a laundry duo.

The Fleece scent (blue side) is a generic sweet clean scent. Throw was not good (around 2.5 or 3 out of 5).

The Flannel scent (white side) is a clean scent with a mossy note. It's very similar to an older Better Homes & Gardens scent called "Southern Spanish Moss". Throw was very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5.



Perfect Winter Kiss Duo
Winter Cuddle + Frosted Mint

Notes:
Winter Cuddle - Radiant white lemon and aromatic herbs blend with dew-covered orchard apple, pink peppered cedar and soft autumn rain wrapped in ambered patchouli and cool touches of spiced olibanum.
Frosted Mint - The first crisp snow of the season blankets notes of frosted evergreen, woodland sage, and regal juniper accented by shimmering mint, white cedar, and the freshness of sweet musk.

Winter Cuddle is the new Better Homes & Gardens Stormy Autumn Night scent (even the same color). But unlike Stormy Autumn Night, which had only a fair throw, the throw for this scent was excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Frosted Mint is a eucalyptus pine scent which might be the same as Better Homes & Gardens Fragrant Woodland Walk, or similar, also a little like the new Better Homes & Gardens Aspen Evergreen Walk but not as harsh or biting. Very nice! Throw was excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.