Saturday, December 31, 2016

Discontinued Boulevard, Tuscany, Patio Sensations Scented Wax Melts Review from Ollie's and Gabe's

Discontinued Boulevard, Tuscany, Patio Sensations Scented Wax Melts Review from Ollie's and Gabe's

Boulevard, Tuscany, Patio Sensations Scented Wax Melts from Ollie's and Gabe's
Click image to view larger photo

Watch video below:


This is just a fun review of discontinued Boulevard, Tuscany, Patio Sensations, Hallmark, and Vesta Scented Wax Melts from Ollie's and Gabe's. You can only find them at stores like Ollie's and Gabe's that sell old, discontinued wax melts, or online at sites like eBay and Amazon. These were $1 to $1.49 each, and while many of them lost their throw, the Boulevard (Blvd) scents in particular were still very good!

Want to discuss this review and others? Come and join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. We are a fun active group of over 1,600 members!

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

New Mainstays Spring 2017 Candle Scents at Walmart

Walmart has 6 new Mainstays scents for spring! Candles only right now but most, if not all, of these new scents should be available in Mainstays wax melts within a few weeks or so.

I did a cold sniff review video, which can only be viewed by our "Scented Wax Melts Retail Store Bought" Facebook group members, at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1123910864393408/. Please come and join our group to see the video and add to the discussion. We are a fun active group of over 1,600 members! 

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Pine and Christmas Tree Scented Wax Melts Review

Pine and Christmas Tree Scented Wax Melts Review

Pine and Christmas Tree Scented Wax Melts

I did a video review of over 30 Pine (Christmas Tree) scented wax melts from ScentSationals, AmbiEscents, Sonoma, Tuscany, Goose Creek, Colonial, Better Homes & Gardens, Yankee, Scentsy, and more. Perfect for the holidays! Many of these are still available, but some have been discontinued.

This video can only be viewed by our "Scented Wax Melts Retail Store Bought" Facebook group members, at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1121277137990114/. Please come and join our group to see the video and add to the discussion. We are a fun active group of over 1,600 members!

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Hanna's Candles Scented Wax Melts Review

Hanna's Candles Scented Wax Melts Review

Hanna's Candles Scented Wax Melts
Click photo to view larger image

Watch video below:


This is a review of Hanna's Candles scented wax melts. Hanna's Candles also makes Ashland wax for Michael's, Huntington Home wax for Aldi, Jolly Rancher, Hershey's, and TimberWick scents, and used to make Mainstays Triple Melts for Walmart (before they were discontinued about two years ago). If you miss the Mainstays Triple Melts and the Aldi wax melts (which only come out three times a year), you can find many of these scents in Hanna's Candles' other wax melts which can be ordered from their website at https://candlemart.com/collections/all/no-wick. They have more scents than the ones I reviewed, and I wish I had bought more. I'll be placing another order!

In general, Hanna's Candles melts are excellent in terms of scents and throw. Their new Trios and their Aromabeads Singles (which I reviewed at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/search?q=aromabeads) are fantastic. I would put Hanna's Candles scented wax melts on par with ScentSationals (and Better Homes & Gardens, which ScentSationals manufactures for Walmart) wax melts, my #1 brand, especially now that Hanna's Candles has updated their website (http://www.candlemart.com)  to include new items and make ordering easier.



Hanna's at Home Trios – Dew Drops / Gentle Breeze / Garden Rain
Dew Drops – This is actually the same scent as Mainstays Garden Rain (I think scent name on label is incorrect). It's a fresh sweet watery airy scent with a little bit of an ocean-y quality and a smidgeon of floral perhaps that makes it very slightly perfumey. It has a generic bathroom air freshener scent, but I like it better than Dew Drops. Throw is excellent, around a 4 out of 5.
Gentle Breeze – Fresh watery herbal scent with a hint of lemon and a soapy note, this one smells like a fresh men's body wash. It's a nice scent, but throw is not good, maybe a 2 or 2.5 out of 5.
Garden Rain – This is a different scent than Mainstays Garden Rain (I think scent name on label is incorrect). This is a fresh watery scent with a chemical note and maybe a smidgeon of sweet lemon. It smells like a cheap generic bathroom air freshener. Not a bad scent, but not my favorite. Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5. I probably should have started these reviews with one of the many scents that I really love!



Hanna's at Home Trios – Orchard Fruits / Pumpkin Latte / Apple Pumpkin
This is the same as the old Mainstays Triple melts with the same scents, and also the same as Ashland Autumn Gatherings "Harvest Trio" at Michael's in Fall 2015. These are some of my favorite scents!
Orchard Fruits – Very sweet rich apple scent with a caramel note and maybe a hint of cinnamon. This is not a typical cinnamon apple scent. It's much sweeter and richer, and it smells fantastic! Throw is excellent, 5 out of 5!
Pumpkin Latte – Another very sweet rich scent, this one smells a lot like eggnog, very creamy, with a slight nutmeg note but also a barely detectable smidgeon of coffee. Another fantastic scent with excellent 5 out of 5 throw.
Apple Pumpkin – I just smell apple, although there's a bit of an apple cider note but not a mulling spices type scent. Throw is excellent, 5 out of 5.



Hanna's at Home Trios – Caramel Apple / Mulled Cider / Apple Butter
This is the same as the old Mainstays Triple melts with the same scents.
Caramel Apple – This smells like mulled apple cider. It's not all that caramely, but it still smells very nice. Excellent throw, 5 out of 5.
Mulled Cider – This smells like fresh apple with a hint of mulling spices and a smidgeon of caramel. In fact, I think the label is wrong, and the Caramel Apple and Mulled Cider scents are reversed. Excellent throw, 5 out of 5.
Apple Butter – A rich sugary sweet apple scent, this smells like apple flavored buttercream frosting! This is the best scent of the three. Excellent throw, 5 out of 5.



Hanna's at Home Trios – Pumpkin Maple / Pumpkin Spice / Pumpkin Bread
This is the same as the old Mainstays Triple melts with the same scents.
Pumpkin Maple – This smells like caramel and maple with a hint of pumpkin spices. So yummy! This is the best scent of the three. Excellent throw, 5 out of 5.
Pumpkin Spice – This is a typical pumpkin pie scent, and quite nice. Excellent throw, 5 out of 5.
Pumpkin Bread – This is another pumpkin pie type scent, but more bready and with more cinnamon and not as sweet as the Pumpkin Spice scent. Excellent throw, 5 out of 5.



Hanna's at Home Trios – Strawberry Lemonade / Frozen Mint Leaves / Lemon Sugar
This is the same as the old Mainstays Triple melts with the same scents.
Strawberry Lemonade – This was one of my favorite Mainstays scents, and I've missed it! It's a strong lemon scent with a sweet berry note. Very nice, and throw is excellent, 4 out of 5.
Frozen Mint Leaves – I just smell something sweet, with maybe a smidgeon of lemon, but not really mint. This one always had the weakest throw in the MainStays triple melt, but I don't recall it being this weak. Throw is around a 2 out of 5.
Lemon Sugar – A very sweet almost marshmallowy lemon scent, very nice. Throw is very good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.



Hanna's at Home Trios – Coastal Woods / Tiki Hut / Sand Dollar
This is the same as the old Mainstays Triple melts with the same scents.
Coastal Woods – Light tropical woodsy scent with a slight coconut note, but it mostly smells like really old or old-fashioned perfume, but not in a bad way. It's an unusual scent.  Throw is fair to good, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.
Tiki Hut – A fresh herbal body wash type scent with just a barely detectable smidgeon of light woods and maybe floral. There may be coconut although I don't really smell it. Throw is excellent, 4 out of 5.
Sand Dollar – I think this is pineapple with coconut and light wood. It's not a sweet or foodie pineapple, actually a little on the sour side, and it's definitely tropical. I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, but I like this one. Throw is excellent, 4 out of 5.



Hanna's at Home Trios – Island Petals / Tropical Beach / Island Waves
Island Petals – A very sweet watery scent with a floral note. Very nice, and throw is excellent, 4 out of 5.
Tropical Beach – Similar to Island Petals but not quite as sweet, and with a soapy note and a smidgeon of coconut. It smells like a woman's body wash.  Throw is quite good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.
Island Waves – This is the same as the old Mainstays Island Waves scent, coconut with a fresh sweet watery note, more coconut than, and not as sweet as, the other two scents.  Throw is excellent, at least a 4 out of 5, maybe 5 out of 5.



Hanna's at Home Trios – Evergreen & Cedar / Holly Berry / Pine
Evergreen & Cedar – A nice pine scent with a sweet slightly vanilla note and a hint of fruit, although the sweet note might actually be cedar. Nice scent, but throw is only fair, maybe a 2.5 or 3 out of 5.
Holly Berry – A bayberry scent, similar to Evergreen & Cedar scent, but less pine and more berry. Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5.
Pine – A standard pine scent with a very subtle hint of sweetness. It may be the same scent as Mainstays Evergreen Spruce. Throw is excellent, 4 out of 5.



Hanna's at Home Trios – Island Luau / Cabo Sunshine / Tahitian Sunset
This is the same as the old Mainstays Triple melts with the same scents.
Island Luau – Tropical fruit scent with coconut and a very light woodsy note. Throw is excellent and this one is a scent monster, 5 out of 5.
Cabo Sunshine – Sweet and slightly sour tropical fruit scent with a hint of coconut. Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5.
Tahitian Sunset – I can't figure this one out. It's a little perfumey and a little tropical, but there's also a sour waxy almost savory note in the background. I don't like this one. Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5.


Hanna's Harvest Heirloom Uncle Johnny's Fall Hayride
Notes: Cedar, juniper, fir, oakmoss, musk, tobacco
This is the same scent as Huntington Home Falling Leaves scent that Aldi's carried in September 2015. It smells like really old apples (but in a good way) mixed with woodsy leaves and an apple cider note. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell fir, musk, or tobacco, and I can't believe that apples are not in the scent notes since that's what I smell the most. Throw is excellent, at least a 4 or even 5 out of 5; it's a scent monster that takes over the entire house!


Hanna's at Home PureFresh Kitchen Neutralizing Sparkling Herbs
Notes: Green herbs, citrus, lemongrass, and eucalyptus
This is the same scent as the old ScentSationals Sparkling Herbs. This is very strange, because ScentSationals and Hanna's Candles are two different companies.  It's a fantastic lemony herbal scent with a soapy note, like a spa type fragrance. Throw is excellent,  4 out of 5.


Hanna's at Home PureFresh Smoke Neutralizing Spring Rain
Notes: Apple, ozone, citrus, lily, jasmine, wood and musk
This one is very light on cold sniff. I can barely smell it. Same thing when melted. I think I detect a baby powder scent with a chemical note, but I can't tell. Throw is maybe 1 out of 5.


TimberWick Cedar Oakwood
Notes: White oak wood, birch, citrus bergamot, florals, musk, and cedarwood
This is the same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Pure White Woods, which is strange because Better Homes & Gardens melts are made by ScentSationals, a completely different company. This is a nice sweet woodsy scent, similar to Vanilla Woods. I don't smell citrus. Throw is excellent, 4 out of 5.


TimberWick Carmine Rose
Notes: Rose, cyclamen, white musk, and tender woods
A plain tea rose scent. This is not the same as the old Mainstays Rose scent, which was a more artificial scent. Throw is quite good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.


TimberWick Night Musk
Notes: Sandalwood, eucalyptus, cedarwood, orange peel, patchouli, and musk
A woodsy men's cologne scent with a smidgeon of smokiness. I don't smell eucalyptus, although that might be the smokiness. And I don't smell orange. Very nice scent. Unfortunately throw is not very good, around a 2.5 out of 5, but would probably do well in a very small room.


TimberWick Ember Glow
Notes: Spiced wood, juniper, cinnamon, patchouli and vanilla
This smells like sweet raw wood scent like pencil shavings, with leather, and maybe a hint of sweet vanilla. It's a manly scent, but it doesn't smell like cologne. It's very familiar, so I think this scent has been used in other wax melts. I'm surprised that leather is not one of the notes, since I detect a strong leather note in this scent. I don't smell cinnamon at all. Throw is fair, around a 2.5 or 3 out of 5. 


TimberWick Woodland Terrace
Notes: Lemon, coriander, peppercorn, cardamom, Koa wood, and vetiver
This is not very strong on cold sniff, but it smells like freshly cut herbs and maybe a minty note.  When melted, I don't detect any mint, but it also takes on more of a raw wood note mixed with the herbs. It's a bit too "natural", not a scent that I would want to melt in the house. Throw is fair, around a 2.5 or 3 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and others? Come and join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. We are a fun active group of over 1,600 members!

Sunday, December 11, 2016

Colonial Candle Simmersnaps Wax Melts Review

Colonial Candle Simmersnaps Wax Melts Review

Colonial Candle Simmersnaps Wax Melts
Click Photo to View Larger Image

Watch video below:


This is a review of Colonial Candle Simmer Snap Scented Wax Melts. Colonial Candle scents are rich and complex, and when they throw well, they're fantastic. Unfortunately, too many of their wax melts have poor throw, so this will be my last order. I've also done other Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps Wax Melt Reviews at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2015/12/colonial-candle-simmer-snaps-scented-wax.html and http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/04/colonial-candle-simmer-snaps-scented-wax.html.

Colonial Candle no longer lists the scent notes on their website, but for most of these scents I was able to find archived versions of the older web pages that did list them.

Update: I called Colonial Candle to return the melts that had no or poor throw. I found that many of them were from older batches, and I was given a credit card refund with no trouble. I didn't even have to return them, so no hassle! I must say, their Customer Service was fantastic, and Stefanie was friendly and helpful!



Morning Dew
Description: A refreshing blend of sparkling white peach, dew-kissed petals, and blonde woods accented by clean ivory musk.
Notes: Top: Sliced Strawberry, White Peach, Citrus Cocktail, Honeycrisp Apple; Middle: Morning Dew, Blooming Jasmine, Sheer Muguet; Bottom: Madagascar Vanilla, Patchouli, Blonde Woods, Ivory Musk

This smells like Angel perfume to me, one of my favorite scents! This scent is hard to describe, but it's fantastic. I smell the musk and the light woods notes. I also detect a foodie note, like a vanilla. Colonial Candle used to list the top, middle, and bottom notes of their scents on their website, but they no longer do that. I had to find archived versions of their old web pages to find these notes. And after seeing them, there's the vanilla, and I think I smell a hint of jasmine. I don't detect any fruits like peach, strawberry or apple. Unfortunately throw was not good, around a 2.5 out of 5. I'm almost tempted to keep it because it smells so good, but it's just too weak and would probably only do well in a very small room.


Simple Breeze
Description: Take in the fresh outdoor feeling of dewy greens and a hint of lavender and geranium.
Notes: Top: Dewy Greens, Ozone, Citrus; Middle: Lavender, Geranium; Bottom: Sandalwood

A lovely sweet laundry scent with a jasmine note. Throw is excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.


Rain Showers
Description: Capturing that moment when the rain first falls, carrying hints of ozone, clary sage and oakmoss, saturating the ground and cleansing everything it touches.
Notes: Top: Ozone Mint, Grapefruit, Glacier Water Accord; Middle: Clary Sage, Lavender; Bottom: Oakmoss, Coumarin, Tonka Bean

A fresh watery floral scent, quite generic, smells like air freshener. Nice scent, but only "meh" for me. I don't smell mint or grapefruit or lavender. Throw is good, around a 3 out of 5.


Savannah Moss
Description: Surround yourself in the beauty of Savannah moss with hints of warm amber, fresh balsam, and sweet jasmine.

I just smell wax on cold sniff. Because the Simmersnaps have a hole in the top of the package, this can allow the scent to dissipate quickly. If an older scent or it wasn't stored properly, the scent leaves the wax and all that's left is… wax. Unfortunately that's the case with this scent and several others in this order (and other orders I've placed in the past). Colonial Candle scents are fantastic, and very complex, which is why I love them. However, there are more duds than there should be, so I'm not sure I'll be ordering from Colonial Candle anymore. As expected, this one had no throw. I did smell a smidgeon of something maybe a little woodsy and floral, but with that waxy note. Throw was maybe a 1 out of 5 and probably would not do well even in a small room.


Wildflowers
Description: An exuberant, vivacious scent that blends iced mandarin and ginger lily blossoms with elegant bergamot and coveted Vetiver.
Notes: Top: Mandarin, Bergamot, Orange Zest, Dragonfruit, Grapefruit; Middle: Ginger Lily Blossoms, Lavender, Iris; Bottom: Vetiver, Tonka, White Sandalwood

Another waxy scent. I smell maybe a smidgeon of floral with possibly coconut, but it's mostly just wax. Throw was 0 out of 5 and I could barely smell anything even up close.


Harbor Mist
Description: Treasure the clean scent of gentle florals, musk, and a touch of sweet pear.
Notes: Top: Ozone Accord, Water Lily; Middle: Floral; Bottom: Musk

Very weak on cold sniff, but I detect a fresh soapy watery scent, with that old waxy note. Throw was maybe a 1 or 1.5 out of 5 and might do okay in a tiny bathroom.


Cozy Cashmere
Description: Wrap yourself in the warm scent of fresh florals, sensual musk, and soothing vanilla.
Notes: Top: Fresh Air, Apricot; Middle: Tea, Peony; Bottom: Sandalwood, Musk, Vanilla

Weak on cold sniff. I smell a creamy old-fashioned perfume scent, like an old-fashioned face cream. It has a little of that waxy note but not bad. I don't smell apricot. Throw was barely a 1 out of 5, and would probably not even do well in a small bathroom.


Pink Cherry Blossom
Description: Fresh raspberry and crisp apple mix with soft florals on a rich cherry wood background.
Notes: Top: Raspberry, Apple, Pear; Middle: Apricot, Lily, Orange Blossom; Bottom: Cherry Wood, Musk

This is a little light on cold sniff. A light cottony floral with just a smidgeon of fruit, perfect for a bedroom. Cherry blossom scents often have very weak throw, no matter which company manufactures the wax. I would be happily surprised if this were the exception. Throw is surprisingly quite good, around a 3 out of 5, which is excellent for a cherry blossom scent.


Sea Spray
Description: Splash around in a crisp marine blend of sea grass, salty sea foam, and amber sand.

Typical salty water scent, not bad but not my favorite. Colonial Candle melts are very soft, messy wax, but this one is hard wax. Maybe this is a newer scent with a newer formula? Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5, which may be because of the harder wax.


Picnic in the Park
Description: Sweetly scented jasmine and gardenia blend with poppy and candied rose petals in a pretty, lighthearted fragrance.
Notes: Top: Green Apple, Lemon, Grapefruit, Bergamot, Freesia; Middle: Rose, Geranium, Poppies, Jasmine; Bottom: Amber, Light Musk, Sandalwood, Primrose

This is not the same scent as Yankee Candle's Picnic in the Park (which is more of an apple scent). This is a sweet floral with a very slight woodsiness and maybe a hint of fruit (the apple I think). I can smell the jasmine and gardenia. Nice spring scent, good as a bathroom scent. Throw is around a 2.5 out of 5.


Cucumber Fresca
Description: Relax with this garden-inspired medley of cool, crisp cucumber and fresh cilantro leaves.
Notes: Top: Fresh Wasabi, Basil Leaf, White Grapefruit; Middle: Cucumber Peel, Trailing Ivy, Cilantro; Bottom: Cactus Blossom, Oak Moss, Violet Leaf

A nice fresh herbal scent with a cucumber note, but also a slight tartness like lemon. It's really not a foodie scent though, more like a fresh or spa type scent. And I don't smell wasabi! When melted, there's a weird note in there that smells "old". Throw is around a 2.5 or maybe 3 out of 5.


Coconut Rain
Description: A creamy coconut blended with sweet pineapple, citrus, and vanilla.
Notes: Top: Creamy Coconut, Pineapple; Middle: Dewy Greens, Citrus; Bottom: Musk, Sweet Vanilla

A nice creamy pineapple and coconut scent that smells like a frozen drink. Throw is very good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.


Sea Salt & Yuzu
Description: An energizing scent of misty sea salt air with touches of grapefruit zest, tart yuzu and lime blossom.
Notes: Top: Pink Grapefruit, Sea Salt, Misty Air; Middle: Lime Blossom, Tart Yuzu, Bergamot Rind; Bottom: Musk, Peony, White Amber

Very strong on cold sniff, this is a super fresh watery scent which smells kind of like pool water with that fresh almost chlorine note. In fact, it smells a lot like DD Sun-Drenched Denim (from Hobby Lobby), which also smells like pool water, although it's not exactly the same but close. Yuzu is an asian citrus fruit, and although I don't detect any citrus notes in this scent, I think there is a barely noticeable fruit note in the background. Throw was excellent early on, around a 4 out of 5, but started dissipating within a half hour and was maybe a 3 out of 5 an hour later, still not bad, but it started taking on a strange chemical note that smelled a little like nailpolish.


Vanilla Rum
Description: Indulge your senses with intoxications aroma of exotic pomegranate blended with spiced rum, soft whipped musk, and Tahitian vanilla.

This smells more like a warm ambery perfume or skin cream, than vanilla or rum. It's not overly sweet though, and when melted it has a bit of a musty note that makes it smell a little old. I don't smell pomegranate at all. Throw is good, around a 3 out of 5.


Falling Leaves
Description: Jump in to the fun-filled harvest gatherings of freshly fallen leaves, ambered spices, and warm harvest grains.
Notes: Top: Aromatic Anise, Spice; Middle: Amber, Wood; Bottom: Vanilla

A very nice woodsy scent with a sweet fruity note I think, and a foodie quality. But looking at the scent notes, I don’t see fruit. I do smell the warm amber. I don't smell anise, but there is some kind of peppery spice in there. Melted, it's also taking on a little bit of a milky note that makes it smell even better. Throw is very good, 3.5 out of 5.


Crisp Fall Breeze
Description: A crisp and aromatic combination of bergamot and nutmeg, with notes of green moss, and warm patchouli.

Very weak on cold sniff, but I detect a men's cologne or sweet rubbing alcohol scent, with that old waxy note. Throw was maybe a 1.5 out of 5 and might do okay in a tiny bathroom.


Pumpkin Torte
Description: Rich and delicious, this pumpkin dessert contains nutmeg, fresh ground cinnamon, a hint of almond, and a touch of black pepper.

A nice generic bakery pumpkin scent, breadier and sweeter than pumpkin pie and with less spice. I don't smell almond or black pepper, but I think I detect a little of that waxy note. Throw is excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.


Bayberry
Description: Fresh bayberry with rich clove and cool winter pine.
Notes: Top: Spice, Pine; Middle: Bayberry; Bottom: Moss, Woods

Peppery savory scent with pine, and a salty, smoky, soapy note. Bayberry scents are usually a little sweet, with a hint of berry, but this one is not. I'm not sure I like it. When melted, it took on kind of a rancid, moldy note and smelled terrible. I didn't even wait to see how it threw (I don't think throw was going to be good), since it wasn't even fully melted and I put my nose up to it and nearly gagged.


Juniper Berry
Description: Experience the holidays with juniper berry, with a light musk, rich fir needle, floral notes of geranium and jasmine and sparkling top notes of lemon zest and grapefruit.

This is a nice warm sweet amber scent with a slight pine note and a hint of berry. Melted, it smells like pine scented men's cologne. It's a fantastic scent! I was concerned that it might not throw well because the light green wax has beige discoloration around the edge, but throw is excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.


White Oak & Berry
Description: The comforting scent of fall is uniquely captured with a beautiful blend of white oak, bergamot, and spiced berries.

Cozy warm men's body wash, but has that slight waxy note on cold sniff. When melted, it smells like waxy soap. Throw is poor, around a 1.5 or 2 out of 5.


Winter Woods
Description: Stroll through the woods, boots crunching in the snow, and the air filled with the scent of pine trees.
Notes: Top: Fir, Tree, Spruce; Middle: Berry; Bottom: Patchouli, Musk

A nice strong peppery pine scent with a raw wood note, this smells like an authentic fir tree. I don't see pepper in the scent notes; maybe it's the "tree" note? I don't smell berry, musk, or patchouli at all, and there's no sweetness in this scent. Throw is excellent, 4.5 or 5 out of 5, and takes over the entire house.


Thistle & Pine
Description: Clear your mind with the invigorating scent of thistle layered with frosted pine and cedarwood, creating an aromatic blend that is sure to energize.

A peppery pine scent with a slightly musty note. I guess the peppery note is the thistle. I don't care for the musty note. Throw is good, around a 3 out of 5, but started dissipating within an hour.


Currant & Holly
Description: Crisp holly leaves are complimented with a kiss of tart ruby redcurrant berried on a frosty winter day.

Pine with a smidgeon of berry. The currant gives this a "classy" vibe. When melted, there's also a hint of a smoky soapy scent that I don't care for. This scent is similar to Holiday Sparkle. Throw is fairly good, around a 3 out of 5.


Holiday Sparkle
Description: The holiday favorite is a memorable scent of soft pine and warming patchouli.
Notes: Top: Fir Balsam; Middle: Floral; Bottom: Woody, Patchouli

Pine with a very slight sweet note, which is probably the floral (although I don't detect the sweetness when melted). There's a slight woodsy note in the background which is probably the patchouli. This scent is similar to Currant & Holly, but without the soapy note. I like this scent better, and throw is very good, 3.5 out of 5.


Crimson Festival
Description: Crushed cinnamon stick and ground nutmeg dazzle with a hint of crisp apple and roasted chestnut.
Notes: Top: Fruity, Apple, Spice; Middle: Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Clove Chestnut; Bottom: Spice, Nut, Eggnog, Sweet

This smells like vanilla with a little bit of nutmeg which gives it an eggnoggy note, but there's also something a little bit bitter in the background which I thought might be pine but it's not. And looking at the scent notes, I don't see pine. I see apple, but I don't think I smell that. I don't smell cinnamon either. It's a nice scent, but when melted I detect more of that bitterness that gives it a bit of a chemical note. Throw is good, around a 3 out of 5.


Want to discuss this review and others? Come and join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. We are a fun active group of over 1,600 members!

Thursday, December 8, 2016

Walmart Scented Wax Melts Fall 2016 - ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens - Part 2

Walmart Scented Wax Melts Fall 2016 - ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens - Part 2

ScentSationals and Better Home & Gardens Wax Melts - Fall 2016
Click photo to view larger image

This is a review of more Walmart Scented Wax Melts for Fall 2016 (ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens) that I did not review the first time.

Please also see Part 1 of this review at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/08/walmart-scented-wax-melts-fall-2016-scentsationals-better-homes-gardens.html

If you want to view a close-up image of each particular wax melt, check out my Pinterest boards for ScentSationals (https://www.pinterest.com/scentedwax/scentsationals-scented-wax-melts/), Better Homes & Gardens (https://www.pinterest.com/scentedwax/better-homes-gardens-walmart-scented-wax-melts/), and MainStays (https://www.pinterest.com/scentedwax/mainstays-walmart-scented-wax-melts/).



Better Home & Gardens Apple Brandy Cider
I smell sweet warm apple with cinnamon, but not an apple pie type scent, more like maybe cinnamon flavored apple juice or warm apple cider. There's a little bit of an earthy note in the background that makes this smell like cider, but not that intense mulling spices scent. It almost has a bit of a pear note as well. It smells really good. Unfortunately, throw was not great, maybe a 2.5 or possibly 3 out of 5.

ScentSationals Baked Orchard Apple
This smells like sweet caramel apple with a buttery bakery note, a very nice scent. It's different from ScentSationals Warm Apple Pie scent, which is more apple-y with more spices and slightly less sweet. Throw is excellent, around a 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

ScentSationals Caramel Pumpkin Seeds
ScentSationals description: "Roasted pumpkin seeds envelope sweet nuances of brown sugar, caramel corn and sweet nutmeg in this delightful fragrance while warming accords of cinnamon, vanilla, musk and sandalwood emphasize the incredible flavor."
Super rich caramel scent. It's almost nauseatingly rich and sweet, so it's better suited for a large room. I think this is the same as AmbiEscents Thankful Harvest scent, or very similar. Throw is excellent, at least 4 out of 5, or more.

ScentSationals Cider House Donuts
This one is very popular! I can smell the donut dough with a bit of a sweet apple cider note, a pinch of cinnamon, and powdered sugar. It's a very nice scent. Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5.

ScentSationals Pumpkin Marshmallow Cream
Walmart description: "Cinnamon and clove, and spiced pumpkin stirred with the creamy, vanilla sweetness of puffy, toasted marshmallow fluff"
This one is a little similar to Warm Pumpkin Cookies but without that "perfumey" note. This smells like a vanilla cookie with pumpkin spices in the background and a slight bready note. It's a nice scent, but it smells like so many other fall bakery scents. Throw is good, around a 3 out of 5.

Better Homes & Gardens Salted Caramel Pumpkin
This one smells a lot like ScentSationals Caramel Pumpkin Seeds although I think it's a bit more salty and not so nauseatingly sweet. Throw is excellent, around a 4 out of 5.

Better Homes & Gardens Simmering Apple Cider
Walmart description: "The scent of juicy wedges of Golden Delicious apple and zesty orange swirl with spicy cinnamon highlights, crushed clove and appealing hints of gingered nutmeg."
This scent has been around for years, so I don't know why it's labeled "Limited Edition". I never bought it before because it smells like fake apple with a chemical note. But sometimes scents smell better when melted, so I decided to give it a try. I'm not a fan. It still smells like fake apple with a waxy note. Throw is good, around a 3 out of 5.

Better Homes & Gardens Sweet Candied Apples
Walmart description: "This has sweet fuji apple, red delicious and autumn Braeburns that shine with a hint of sweet Bosc pear and a dusting of crystalline white sugar."
Sweet fake apple scent with a candy note, like an apple flavored hard candy. When melted, I think there's a smidgeon of a bakery note and possibly cinnamon although barely noticeable. It's actually a nice scent when melted, and throw is excellent, around a 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Better Homes & Gardens Warm Pumpkin Cookies
Walmart description: "This has homemade cinnamon and pumpkin butter cookies stirred with vanilla bean praline and sprinkled with brown sugar granules."
This smells like warm sweet vanilla cookies, but there's another note in there that I can't figure out which may be the pumpkin, although it doesn't smell like pumpkin. It's a smidgeon of some kind of spice that almost gives this a perfumey note. It's a nice scent, but kind of "meh" for me. I've smelled it before, so it's a dupe of an older ScentSationals or Better Homes & Gardens scent. Throw is excellent, around a 3.5 or 4 out of 5. But scent started dissipating within 2 hours or so.



Want to discuss this review and others? Come and join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. We are a fun active group of over 1,600 members!

Saturday, December 3, 2016

Peppermint Scented Wax Melts Review

Peppermint Scented Wax Melts Review

Peppermint Scented Wax Melts

I did a video review of 11 peppermint scented wax melts from ScentSationals, AmbiEscents, Sonoma, Tuscany, Goose Creek, Ashland, Better Homes & Gardens, and Scentsy. Perfect for the holidays! Most of these are still available, although a couple were discontinued. This video is only on our "Scented Wax Melts Retail Store Bought" Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1095331917251303/. You have to join the group to see the video and add to the discussion. Come and join us; we are a fun active group of over 1,600 members!

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Ashland Winter 2016 Christmas Candle Collection Scented Wax Melts Review

Ashland Winter 2016 Christmas Candle Collection Scented Wax Melts Review

Ashland 2016 Christmas Candle Collection Scented Wax Melts
Click photo to view larger image

The Ashland brand is made exclusively for Michael's Arts & Crafts store. The Ashland wax that Michael's used to carry (and still does, although it's the older wax line) was soft and creamy, and many of the scents didn't throw well. These newer wax melts (tall package with harder wax) are made by Hanna's Candles, the same company that used to make the Mainstays brand triple melts from Walmart (which were discontinued). Hanna's also makes the Aldi's Huntington Home wax melts that come out three times a year.

When new Ashland scents come out (generally seasonally... spring, fall, winter, and maybe summer), they cost $3.99, which is pricey. But within only a few weeks, they go on sale for 40% off. Michael's often has other sales, so some of these melts I was able to get for $1.19 each during a 70% off sale!

I bought all the new Christmas Candle Collection scents except Cinnamon Orange, which smells like orange pomander, a scent I don't like (soapy spicy orangey scent).

O' Christmas Tree
Typical pine/spruce scent, but with a woodsy and slightly eucalyptus note, and maybe a smidgeon of smokiness. It's a nice Christmas Tree scent. Throw is quite good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5, although most pine scents have excellent throw. Scent fizzled within 2 hours.

Glistening Snow
Mint with a slight pine note. This is not a sweet mint, and has some spearmint notes that give it a slight toothpaste quality which I don't like. But the pine note saves it. Not my favorite scent, but it definitely has a chilly snow quality! Throw is excellent, around a 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Vanilla Frost
On cold sniff this smells like plain vanilla with a bit of a sweet liqueur note in the background. I expected to smell mint based on the name, but I don't detect any mint. Melted, it's just a nice sweet vanilla scent, nothing special. Throw is good, around a 3 out of 5.

Winter Apple and Balsam
On cold sniff, this smells a little like mulled apple cider, but there's a slightly sour note in the background, and I think I smell a bit of a balsam note. On cold sniff it really just smells more like a fake fall type apple scent than anything. But it smells a little better melted, like sour apple and leaves. It's very similar (if not an exact dupe) of the Huntington Home Falling Leaves scent that was sold at Aldi in the fall of 2015 (Hanna's Candles, the company that makes the Ashland wax melts, also makes the Aldi wax melts). Throw is excellent, around a 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Merry Berry Clementine
This smells like a typical cranberry scent with a smidgeon of spices. It's a nice fall scent. Throw is very good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

Candy Land (triple melts)

red scent (picture of red & white mint candies) - This smells like peppermint candies or a candy cane. Throw is very good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

white scent (picture of white mint candies) - This is a sweet creamy mint with a vanilla note, like creamy mint candies. It smells fantastic! Melted, I don't smell as much of the mint as I do on cold sniff. Throw is very good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

orange scent (picture of gingerbread) - This smells like gingerbread and cloves on cold sniff. When melted, I just smell woodsy cloves. Throw is only fair, maybe a 2.5 out of 5.

Country Lodge (triple melt)
All 3 scents are orange, so I'll have to go by the pictures on the front label.

picture of cinnamon sticks - On cold sniff it smells like straight cinnamon with a bit of sweetness. But when melted, more of the sweetness comes out so the cinnamon is not harsh like a Big Red type cinnamon would be. It's more like a cinnamon roll, and I think I also detect a very slight bakery note. Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5.

picture of a tree - Sugary cinnamon scent with a little bit of cloves. Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5.

picture of orange and pinecones - Sweet cloves with maybe just a hint of cinnamon. Throw is excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Shimmering Noel (triple melt)

white scent - I thought this was the same scent as Glistening Snow above because it's white, but it's not. It's a nice warm woodsy scent with a slight eucalyptus note and a smidgeon of mint. It doesn't have that sinus clearing quality that a straight eucalyptus scent would have, but it smells wonderful. Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5.

light blue scent - This one is not very strong on cold sniff. I smell cloves and just a hint of mint or menthol. Up close, I can smell the sinus clearing effects of the menthol. It's a nice scent, and throw is very good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

light green scent - This is the same scent as Glistening Snow (reviewed above).

Twisted Citrus and Spice (triple melt)

orange scent (picture of orange & cinnamon) - This smells like a combination of pomander and apple mulling spices with a hint of brown fall leaves. Definitely a fall scent! Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5.

magenta scent (picture of cranberry & orange beverage) - On cold sniff this smells like very tart cranberry, but when melted it smells like red wine, with a little bit of that sour fermentation note that I don't like, but a little bit of sweetness that tempers some of that sourness. It's actually a pretty nice scent, and throw is excellent, at least a 4 out of 5.

green scent (picture of apples) - This is a sour apple scent which is similar to the Winter Apple and Balsam scent (reviewed above), but not as sweet. It's too sour or bitter or something, so I'm not a fan. Throw is good, around a 3 out of 5.

Enchanted Fruits

red scent (picture of mulberries) - This smells like apples and berries with a woodsy note and a little bit of sourness. It's not very strong on cold sniff. Melted, it's a bit too tart for my liking. Throw is good, around a 3 out of 5.

green scent (picture of apple with cinnamon stick) - This is the same as the green scent in the Twisted Citrus and Spice triple melt. I don't care for the sour bitter note. Throw is excellent, around a 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

magenta scent (picture of cranberry beverage) - This is the same scent as the magenta scent in the Twisted Citrus and Spice triple melt.

Winter White cookies
These three scents smell very similar, and they're my favorite scents out of all of this year's Christmas Candle Collection.

tan scent (picture of powdered sugar crescent cookies) - rich buttery shortcake cookie scent with an almond note. Throw is good, 3 out of 5.

ivory scent (picture of powdered snowball cookies) - This smells a lot like the tan scent above, although the nuttiness is pecan or walnut instead of almond, and it's more buttery. Throw is excellent, a 4 or 4.5 out of 5.

beige scent (picture of plain vanilla cookies) - Super buttery cookie with slight nutty (pecan maybe, but not almond) and milky notes. Not as nutty as the other two scents. Throw is excellent, a at least a 4 out of 5.

Want to discuss this review and others? Come and join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. We are a fun active group of over 1,600 members!

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Goose Creek Candle Scented Wax Melts Review - November 2016

Goose Creek Candle Scented Wax Melts Review - November 2016

Goose Creek Candle Scented Wax Melts
Click photo to view larger image


Watch video below:


This is yet another review of Goose Creek Candle scented wax melts. These 10 scents are relatively new, from the past few months. At this poit I've pretty much reviewed every available Goose Creek wax melt scent. Although these can be found at some stores, I haven't seen them in my area so I order them from Goose Creek's website at http://www.goosecreekcandle.com.

Please also read my other Goose Creek scented wax melt reviews at:
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/03/goose-creek-candle-scented-wax-melts-0316.html 
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/04/goose-creek-candle-scented-wax-melts.html 
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/06/goose-creek-candle-scented-wax-melts-review.html

Goose Creek has a lot of sales, often every few weeks, and it's usually a 50% sitewide sale, or 20 wax melts for the price of 10. It's best to wait for a sale rather than buy them full price.

Mulberry
"Sun sweetened mulberries blend beautifully with light notes of cherry and an undertone of vanilla."
This smells a little like cherry but with that cherry cough syrup note, which is nice. There's also a hint of bitterness that makes it more of a wild berry type scent. It's a nice scent, although not my favorite. Throw was fair, maybe a 2.5 or 3 out of 5, but scent started dissipating within an hour and then it took on a chemical note.

Auburn Lake
"Fruity notes of black currant, Sicilian bergamot and mandarin that blend into a heart of fir balsam, peach nectar and black orchid. A warm base of patchouli, dark chocolate, tobacco leaves and Tahitian vanilla finish this serene fragrance."
On cold sniff I smell sweet wood with cloves or tobacco and just a smidgeon of smokiness. It almost has a bit of a barbecue sauce vibe. Looking at the scent notes, there's black currant which makes scents smell classy. I don't smell fir or balsam at all, although that might be the smokiness I detect. There's tobacco and patchouli. I don't smell any chocolate at all. Melted, it's definitely a woodsy tobacco clove type scent and does smell a bit like barbecue sauce. Throw is fair, maybe a 2.5 or 3 out of 5.

White Coral
"This beautiful rich aroma combines black currant, peach and orange. The heart blends light notes of rose, orange blossom, jasmine and freesia. The bottom is a warming vanilla, sandalwood and light musk."
This is a very sweet perfumey scent with maybe a hint of coconut and perhaps a smidgeon of some kind of fruit, and maybe a little amber for warmth. It's similar to Scentsy Luna and ScentSationals Blackberry Cider. Looking at the scent notes, there's black currant which gives this scent a rich classy feel. I guess I do smell peach just a little, but not orange at all. I don't smell rose, but I think I smell jasmine, and the musk gives it that warm perfumey note. Throw is good, around a 3 or maybe 3.5 out of 4.

Sweet Banana Bread
"This scrumptious homemade treat folds bananas, sugared pralines and buttered pecans into a sweet mix of whipped honey, caramel swirl, cinnamon and brown sugar. Vanilla creme adds the perfect finishing touch."
This is very rich, more like a sweet banana cake with brown sugar crumbles on top. It smells fantastic! Now that I've read the scent notes, I guess I do detect a nuttiness from the pecans. I don't smell cinnamon, which is good, because too many bakery scents add cinnamon. This smells better than Mainstays Banana Nut Bread and Better Homes & Gardens Banana Bread Pudding (both from Walmart, although the pudding scent has been discontinued). And throw is fantastic, at least a 4 or 4.5 out of 5.

Dark Vanilla Bean
"Classic rich French vanilla cream. A bit of toasted coconut & caramel butter brings warmth & longevity."
On cold sniff this is just a plain milky vanilla, and not very strong. I expected it to be much richer or more exotic or just "different" somehow. Looking at the scent notes, I might detect a smidgeon of coconut, but no caramel or buttery notes. Throw is not good, maybe a 2.5 out of 5.

Cherry Cheesecake
"Sweet notes of vanilla cream cheese, a juicy cherry topping and sugared vanilla."
This one is disappointing on cold sniff. I just smell a fake sweet non-descript berry and it doesn't even smell foodie like candy or cake. However, it does smell better melted. I do smell the cherry (although it still smells fake), and I guess what they're trying to pass off as cheese but kind of smells like white bread or old milk. If it weren't for that note, I would probably like it even with the fake fruit note. Throw is excellent, around a 4 out of 5.

Beach Party

"Fruity blend of lemon, lime, orange, mango, black currant and peach. Sugar, musk and vanilla adds the perfect finishing touch."
This smells fantastic, like sweet lemon and maybe plum. It smells similar to Scentsy Summer Sunset, but more lemony. Throw is excellent, 4 out of 5.

Under the Oaks
"Warm and rustic woods blend beautifully with fresh bergamot, neroli, and oakmoss. A fresh breeze brings warming notes of mahogany, jasmine, and sandalwood."
I smell raw wood but I can't figure out the other notes, maybe a smidgeon of pine. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell neroli or jasmine, although there is just a smidgeon of sweetness which could be one of those notes. When melted, however, I don't smell any sweetness, just a very woodsy scent with a hint of pine. Throw is excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Wildest Dreams
"A fruity mix of bergamot, pear, orange and cassis wraps around a floral bouquet of jasmine, muguet and apple blossom while a sensual base of musk, sandalwood, cedarwood, vanilla, amber and tonka leaves a lasting impression."
On cold sniff it smells like sandalwood and men's cologne. I don't smell fruit, but now that I know it's in there, I might detect a very slight peachy note, but no orange or apple. When melted though, it took on a slight cat pee vibe that I didn't like. Throw is quite good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

Day in the Sun
"Enjoy the sunshine with this fruity floral fragrance blending sparkling bergamot, lemon zest, petitgrain and neroli with orange blossom, tuberose and Tahitian tiare. Coconut and musk add warmth and a sense of calm."
This smells just like Coppertone Suntan Oil, like Yankee Candle Sun & Sand. Throw is excellent, 3.5 to 4 out of 5.


Want discuss this review and other scented wax melts? Please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Walmart Scented Wax Melts Winter/Holiday/Christmas 2016 - Better Homes & Gardens & Mainstays Review


Walmart Scented Wax Melts Winter/Holiday/Christmas 2016 - Better Homes & Gardens & Mainstays Review

Walmart Scented Wax Melts Winter/Holiday/Christmas 2016 - Better Homes & Gardens & Mainstays
Click photo to view larger image


Watch video below, or read text review below:



Better Homes & Gardens Winter's Sleigh Ride
"Seasonal blend of orange zest, cool winter spices, smoky woods, incense and mountain fir, with a warming base of oakmoss, blue cedar and vanilla bean"
This is a cozy smoky scent with a slight pine note I think. I thought I smelled a hint of mint, but I don't think so; maybe it's the orange zest or the "cool winter spices" (whatever those are). I don't smell orange at all. On cold sniff there's a hint of sweetness which is probably the vanilla, but I don't smell any sweetness when melted. This is similar to Better Homes & Gardens Winter Ski Resort from 2014, and Better Homes & Gardens Wooded Mountain Trails, but with slightly different notes. And it's a scent monster that took over the entire house, a throw of 5 out of 5, and it smells great!

Better Homes & Gardens First Winter Blizzard
"Crushed peppermint leaf, smoked birch wood, fragrant pine and emerald holly leaf glisten with an icy, ozone freshness touched by mistletoe greens"
I barely smell anything other than maybe a slightly sweet woodsy soapy scent. I didn't detect any mint. Throw was maybe a 2 out of 5.

Better Homes & Gardens Cranberry Cookie Crumble
"Sweet cranberry, cinnamon sugar, caramel swirl and buttered pecan in a heart of sugar cookie and crumb cake"
There's a reason why everyone is raving over this one... It's fantastic, a super rich vanilla cookie with a slight berry note and a smidgeon of nut and caramel. I don't smell cinnamon, which is good. Throw is excellent, at least 4 out of 5.

Better Homes & Gardens Bubbly Peach Cocktail
"Peach prosecco, sparkling bubbles and pink champagne blend together to create this effervescent fragrance. Fruity infusion of mango, peach nectar and blush wine swirl in the heart and lead into a sweet, refreshing base of icy vanilla and sugarcane"
I thought I would hate this one because generally anything with "wine" or "cocktail" or "champagne" in the scent name tends to have that sour wine fermentation note. And this scent does have that note, but it's slight. I smell peach and a little bit of creaminess which is probably the vanilla, and just a smidgeon of that sour wine fermentation note. I don't detect any effervescence notes that you sometimes get with fizzy alcohol type scents. It's a nice scent but not my favorite. Throw is pretty good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

Better Homes & Gardens Warm Up Winter
"Warm cedar and oriental clove bud with notes of black myrrh touched by shimmering aldehydes, swirls of fragrant wood smoke, spiced amber and herbaceous greens"
I smell the cloves, cedar, and smokiness. It's a cozy scent, but I'm not sure if I like it enough to keep it. It almost has a slightly foodie quality, maybe because of the cloves, but it's not sweet enough to be yummy. Throw is very good, around a 3.5 out of 5.

Better Homes & Gardens Sugared Maple and Evergreens
"Fusion of autumn accords including sugared maple, orchard woods, autumn apple and clementine with holiday notes of roasted chestnuts, nutmeg, fresh evergreen, holiday pine and buttered rum"
This smells fantastic, like a mixture of caramel and pine with a hint of nut. It sounds like a weird combination, but it really works. I guess the caramel I smell is the maple and buttered rum. I don't smell apple or any kind of fruit. Throw is excellent, a 4 out of 5.

Better Homes & Gardens Season of Joy
"Balsam and fir adorned with festive red berries join notes of warm woods and oriental amber accented by vanilla caramel and shimmering spice"
This is not a Christmas scent, but a fantastic warm perfumey scent with both an amber and a caramel note. I don't smell any balsam/pine or spices, but maybe there's a smidgeon of berries that I barely detect. Unfortunately throw is maybe a 2.5 out of 5, but it might do well in a small room.

Mainstays Apples & Evergreen
This is a nice even blend of sweet apples and pine, with maybe just a smidgeon of caramel. I'm not sure which I smell more, the apples or pine. It's a combination that wouldn't seem to make sense, but it works. Throw is excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Mainstays Spiced Cranberry
This is a nice cranberry sauce scent, sweet with a little bit of that bitterness, making it an authentic cranberry rather than a "candy" type cranberry. I think there's some kind of spice in the background but I'm not sure what. This is definitely a fall type scent. Throw is good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

Mainstays Pine
This is an authentic woodsy spruce scent. Mainstays came out with an "Evergreen Spruce" scent last year or the year before, and although it smells very similar to the "Pine" scent, the Evergreen Spruce scent is more of that biting artificial pine scent with a smidgeon of sweetness. This new Pine scent smells much nicer. And throw is fantastic, at least a 4 out of 5.

Mainstays Winter Mittens
This smells like Better Homes & Gardens Pure White Woods or ScentSationals Vanilla Wood, and on cold sniff there's just a hint of mint which I smell from close up but not in the room. It's a nice classy light woodsy scent with a hint of sweetness but no smokiness. Throw is very good, around a 3 or 3.5 out of 5.

Mainstays Spiced Orange
This smells like orange pomander, which is orange plus spices. I think cloves is one of the spices, but I don't smell cinnamon. This is a strong, rich, almost savory orange scent. I'm not a fan of this one, or pomander scents in general, as it's a bit nauseating to me. Throw is excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.


If you'd like to view comments and participate in discussions about this review and others, and find out where you can find these scents, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail