Monday, December 28, 2015

AmbiEscents Scented Wax Melts Review - December 2015

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Review - December 2015

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Review - December 2015
Click photo to view larger image

Watch video below:


This is a review of AmbiEscents wax melts from Bed Bath & Beyond (they are also available at other stores). These are mostly new scents from December 2015, although some are older scents. AmbiEscents is made by ScentSationals (which can be found at many stores, including Walmart, and also on their website at http://www.scentsationals.com).

My Scent and Throw scores are on a scale of 0 to 5 with 0 being the absolute worst and 5 being the absolute best. Scent score is VERY subjective; you may love a scent I hate, and vice versa. Throw score is not as subjective, although there are a lot of variables that can affect the throw (again, see the Definitions page). 0 throw means I couldn't smell anything when melted, even with my nose right on top of the wax. 1 is poor throw, 2 is very light throw, 2.5 is light/fair, 3 is good, 3.5 is very good, 4 is excellent, and 5 is a "scent monster" (I can smell it throughout the house and even outside the house).


Orchid Dreams
Generic flowery baby powder. This smells like scented toilet paper, which sounds bad, but it's actually a very nice scent. Perfect for bathroom or bedroom. The scent lasted about 2.5 hours.
Scent: 4
Throw: 3.5

Pomegranate Sangria
Slightly tangy waxy non-descript berry scent, not overly sweet, almost like there might be a hint of sage mixed in (although it doesn't smell anything like Pomegranate & Sage). Smells like a lot of other pomegranate-y wax I have.
Scent: 3
Throw: 3

Cottage Window
I love this scent! It's a soft jasmine/gardenia floral with a slight baby powder note, I believe. But I think I also smell a smidgeon of vanilla that warms up the scent and keeps it from being "too" floral. This is the same scent as ScentSationals Cottage Window, which I ordered from the ScentSationals website about two months ago. I loved the scent then, but the throw was poor. I'm glad the AmbiEscents version has a better throw.
Scent: 5
Throw: 3

Pink Citrus
This is a fresh scent with a fake pink grapefruit note. Even though it's not an "authentic" grapefruit, it's not bad. Pink grapefruit is a little sweeter and not as "intense" as regular grapefruit. I have dish soap that smells like this.
Scent: 3
Throw: 3

Antique Vanilla
I can't figure out the notes in this. I definitely smell vanilla, but there's something else very strong that smells like burnt sugar or burnt maple. It's like a really intense vanilla liquid with a chemical note, almost like almond extract with that slightly bitter quality. On cold sniff, it has a slight latex note. I've never smelled anything like this before. When melted, more of the sweet rich burnt sugar notes come out.
Scent: 3.5 on cold sniff, 5 when melted
Throw: 4

Sophisticated Spice
This is an ambery scent with a hint of wood and cologne, but it's different from other amber scents I've smelled as it doesn't have that soft "cashmere" quality, and there are some other notes I can't figure out. It's like Turkish Spice Market mixed with an ambery cologney perfume note, and like Better Homes & Gardens Warm Rustic Woods but without as much wood. This is not a spicy food scent, and I don't smell any of the typical spices like cinnamon or nutmeg. It's a classy, well, "sophisticated" scent. I believe ScentSationals Fusion has the same scent with the same name.
Scent: 5
Throw: 3.5

Pomegranate Mist
Scent description is "pomegranate fruit with a hint of mint". I smell fruit first, a slightly tart, slightly tropical fruit scent, with a slight eucalyptus note (which I guess is actually the mint). It doesn't seem like fruit and eucalyptus would work together, but it kind of does. It has a slight sinus clearing effect of the mint. The mint is more in the background so it's not overwhelming, and it's not spearmint or peppermint, but more of a non-sweet eucalyptus type mint. I'm not sure if I really like this one or not.
Scent: 3
Throw: 3.5

Lemon Mint Blossom
This doesn't smell as refreshing as it sounds. I definitely smell the lemon first, but there's a strong sage type note that makes this smell more like a spa scent than a fresh summer scent. It's not a bakery or lemonade type lemon, nor is it a kitchen or clean lemon scent, since it's not very sweet. It's smells more like the rind of the lemon, with that very slight bitterness. Barely any throw though. This may be a dupe of ScentSationals Lemon Basil, which I no longer have; that one had no throw either.
Scent: 3
Throw: 1

Raspberry Vanilla
Raspberry and sweet vanilla, just like the name. It's not an authentic raspberry, but that doesn't detract from the scent. It's almost more like a slightly tart strawberry, so the vanilla is probably tempering the tartness of the raspberry.
Scent: 4
Throw: 3

Warm Maple Butter
This smells just like pancakes with butter and maple syrup!
Scent: 4
Throw: 4

Brazilian Sunset
Scent description on package is "A bouquet of passion fruit, guava and fig". This is definitely a tropical scent with tart fruit. There's no coconut, and I don't think I smell pineapple either. I'm not a fan of tropical scents, but I love this one.
Scent: 3.5 on cold sniff, but 5 when melted.
Throw: 4

Passion Fruit Love
This smells almost exactly like Brazilian Sunset (above), although I think there's more tartness with a slight satsuma note (satsuma is a small orange with a very tart almost sour orange-like scent)
Scent: 4
Throw: 4

Tumbled Sea Glass
This is the same scent as ScentSationals Fusion "Sea Glass" scent, a fresh air watery scent with a slightly salty note. Maybe a smidgeon of floral and a very slight barely noticeable hint of lemon? This is a good bathroom scent.
Scent: 4
Throw: 4

Oatmeal Cookies
This is a duplicate of an older AmbiEscents scent called "Oatmeal Raisin" cookie. It's a sweet bakery scent with an authentic raisin note and a hint of cinnamon. Smells like the real thing!
Scent: 4
Throw: 4

Aspen Birch
This is a duplicate of ScentSationals Smoked Birch, one of my favorite scents. It's an intense smoky scent, like liquid smoke, but a mesquite type smoky scent with almost a bacon note. Different from any other scent.
Scent: 5
Throw: 5

Snickerdoodle
A sweet slightly cinnamony bakery scent. This is a dupe of many other similar scents I have, so I didn't melt it. This one is a little weak on cold sniff, so I'm not sure how the throw would be.
Scent: 4
Throw: n/a



If you'd like to view comments and participate in discussions about this review and others, and find out where you can find these scents, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Saturday, December 19, 2015

Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps Scented Wax Review

Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps Scented Wax Review

Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps Scented Wax Review
Click photo to view larger image


Watch video below:


This is a review of Colonial Candle Simmer Snap Scented Wax Melts. Colonial scents are very complex, rich, and on the "heavy" side as far as how many different notes they put into each scent. I really love their scents, and many of them tend to have a slight ambery or woodsy note. I get mixed results from the throw, however (how far the scent reaches when the wax is melted). There are other wax melt brands out there that have much better throw (such as ScentSationals, Better Homes & Gardens at Walmart, AmbiEscents at Bed Bath & Beyond, and Hanna's Candles which makes a lot of melts for different companies such as Ashland at Michael's, Huntington Home at Aldi, and some Rite Aid holiday wax). But their scents are so rich and sophisticated, it "almost" makes up for the mediocre throw.

I think the throw is affected by the fact that Colonial puts a hole at the top of the lid. This is so people can sniff the scent without having to open the package. But when scented wax is exposed to air (much like perfume), the scent dissipates. So if the wax has been sitting around for more than a few months, even if the scent is fairly strong on cold sniff, the throw may no longer be good.

For those that aren't familiar with some of the terms I use, please check out the Definitions page.

My Scent and Throw scores are on a scale of 0 to 5 with 0 being the absolute worst and 5 being the absolute best. Scent score is VERY subjective; you may love a scent I hate, and vice versa. Throw score is not as subjective, although there are a lot of variables that can affect the throw (again, see the Definitions page). 0 throw means I couldn't smell anything when melted, even with my nose right on top of the wax. 1 is poor throw, 2 is very light throw, 2.5 is light/fair, 3 is good, 3.5 is very good, 4 is excellent, and 5 is a "scent monster" (I can smell it throughout the house and even outside the house).

You can buy Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps Scented Wax Melts at some gift and card shops, but the easiest way to get all their available scents is through their website HERE. They have a lot of sales, even up to 50% off. So while regular price for their Simmer Snaps is $4 and their sale scents are $2, with a 50% off sale that reduces the price to only $2 and $1, which is very cheap for a standard 2.4 oz. wax melt.

Shipping is on the high side (http://www.colonialcandle.com/t-shipping.aspx). As of this writing, standard shipping is $7.99 if you spend up to $17, $9.99 if you spend $17.01 to $30, $11.99 if you spend $30.01 to $50, $14.99 if you spend $50.01 to $75, and free if you spend over $75. It also takes me a long time to get my order, about 2 weeks.

Also take a look at a review of 10 additional Colonial scents from April 2016, at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/04/colonial-candle-simmer-snaps-scented-wax.html.


PATCHOULI
Notes: Top: Lily, Bergamot Middle: Pear, White Mimosa, Spanish Moss Bottom: Patchouli, Galbanum, Vanilla Flower
Review: Very light on cold sniff, but I think it's a woodsy cologney patchouli scent.
Scent: 4
Throw: 0

FLORA PARFUME
Notes: Top: Peony, Citron, Neroli Bouquet - Middle: Heliotrope Flower, Sandalwood, Amber - Bottom: Romantic Jasmine, Vanilla Flower, Sheer Musk
Review: Fresh floral, not too perfumey but almost has a slight candy note even though it's not overly sweet. No throw, could barely detect anything even standing a few feet away.
Scent: 4
Throw: 1

WILD IRIS
Notes: Top: Lush Berry, Sweet Plum, Fresh Melon - Middle: Violet Petals, Fresh Gardenia, Jasmine - Bottom: Vanilla, Orchid, Chilled Musk
Review: Floral with a slight vanilla note and a smidgeon of berry. Smells like body wash. No throw whatsoever.
Scent: 4
Throw: 0

TIBETAN SANDALWOOD
Notes: Top: Ginger, Cardamom - Middle: Cedarwood, Guaiacwood, Jasmine - Bottom: Leather, Sandalwood, Tobacco
Review: Rich milky sandalwood with just a smidgeon of smokiness. Scent dissipated after about 2 hours.
Scent: 3.5
Throw: 3

PUMPKIN ROLL
Notes: Top: Nutmeg, Cinnamon Middle: Ginger, Vanilla Bean, Pumpkin Brulee Bottom: Brown Sugar, Espresso Bean, Buttercream
Review: Rich cinnamon and sugar with a milky quality (maybe the cream cheese in the pumpkin roll). Scent lasted all day.
Scent: 4
Throw: 3.5

PLUM CASSIS
Notes: Top: Tart Cranberry, Bright Cassis, Dark Plum - Middle: Clove, Winter Jasmine, Pink Sugar - Bottom: Cashmere Vanilla, Tobacco, Tonka Bean
Review: This is the one that I'm hoping has decent throw, because I love this scent. It's a rich dark plum scent (almost raisin-y) with a classy fig note that keeps it from being too fruity or overly sweet, and a slight amber note. One of the nicest scents I've smelled, and strong on cold sniff so I'm keeping my fingers crossed! Yay, throw is very good! When melted, it has a very slight nail polish note, but not enough to detract too much from the overall scent. Although for that reason I changed my scent quality score from a 5 to a 4.
Scent: 4
Throw: 3.5

Amber & Oud Wood
Notes: Top: Mandarin, Tangerine, Plum – Middle: Jasmine, Clove, Freesia, Rose – Bottom: Sandalwood, Amber, White Oak, Vanilla
Review: This smells like a very sweet cedar with a hint of amber. When melted, I detected a slight baby powder note, but throw was so weak I couldn't really tell what I was smelling. I definitely did not detect anything orangey (mandarin). Very poor throw.
Scent: 3.5
Throw: 1.5

GRAPEFRUIT & WHEATGRASS
Notes: Top: Grapefruit, Pear - Middle: Vetiver - Bottom: Amber, Fresh Wheatgrass
Review: Fresh grapefruit with a very slight green woodsy note, which is probably the wheatgrass. It has a bit of an artificial chemical note, which comes out more when it's melted. Throw was very light.
Scent: 3.5 on cold sniff, 2.5 melted
Throw: 2

TROPICAL FIG
Notes: Top : Blue Mission Fig, Sparkling Honeydew, Green Fig Leaf - Middle : Wild Freesia, Water Lotus, Hibiscus Blossom - Bottom : Coastal Figwood, Coconut Water, Midnight Plum
Review: This one is "slightly" similar to Plum Cassis, in that classy slightly fruity kind of way. It has a slight raisin quality, with maybe a hint of coconut and a smidgeon of wood, but it's not a tropical scent. Now that I've read the fragrance notes, I think I do detect a hint of honeydew melon, and there is a very slight floral undertone as well. For me, it's not quite as good as ScentSationals Tropical Fig, due to the additional coconut note, and it's not as sweet (although SS Tropical Fig is not too sweet either)
Scent: 4
Throw: 4

INDIAN SUMMER
Notes: Top: Fresh Ginger - Middle: Pumpkin Flower - Bottom: White Pumpkin, Blonde Woods
Review: This smells a little like pumpkin pie. I detect some nutmeg and maybe just a hint of cinnamon. There's also a very slight woodsy note. This one is strong on cold sniff, so I hope it throws well.
Scent: 4
Throw: 3.5

SNOWDAY
Notes: Top - Apple, Melon, Peach, Pineapple Middle - Jasmine, Rose, Violet, Dewy Greens, Eucalyptus, Mint Leaf Bottom - Sheer Musk, Vetiver, Rosewood, Amber
Review: Very weak on cold sniff, so I can't detect the notes. Something sweet? Mint? A hint of wood? Melted, I detect apple and spearmint with a hint of wood, and other notes I can't put my finger on. Melon? Maybe. I didn't really like this scent.
Scent: 2
Throw: 4

WHITE PUMPKIN & CLOVE
Notes: Top: Pumpkin Seeds, Brown Sugar, White Pumpkin Purée - Middle: Cinnamon leaf, Black Clove, Sandalwood - Bottom: Patchouli Bark, Vetiver, Vanilla Cashmere
Review: Wow, this one is rich! It smells like brown sugar and salty butter mixed together with a little bit of cloves added and a smidgeon of pumpkin.
Scent: 5
Throw: 4

RUM RAISIN
Notes: Top: Peach, Apple, Pomegranate – Middle: Rum, Lily, Peony – Bottom: Vanilla, Musk, and Amber
Review: On cold sniff I smell a combination of flowers and fruit but I can't make out the other notes. Apple maybe? Now that I see the fragrance notes, I think I do detect the musk and amber, definitely the floral notes (lily and peony), and the fruity notes (not sure which ones). It smells more like a nice classy ambery perfume (similar to Tropical Fig and Plum Cassis) rather a food scent. It doesn't smell like rum and raisin. Disappointingly, throw was very light.
Scent: 4
Throw: 2

CRANBERRY NUT
Notes: A medley of sweet cherry, tangy mandarin and red apple layered over smooth chocolate and a bouquet of peony and freesia. Sweet caramel and rich vanilla give this fragrance a comforting close.
Review: This smells SO good, like a thick rich chocolate cherry cordial liqueur with a nutty note. I smell cherry, chocolate and nut. Now that I see the fragrance notes, maybe I do detect a smidgeon of apple, but no mandarin at all (which smells like orange), and neither of the floral notes.
Scent: 5
Throw: 3.5

MOROCCAN MARKET
Notes: Top: Cinnamon Leaves, Spicy Citrus - Middle: Clove, Cinnamon Bark, Patchouli - Bottom: Cream, Spices, Musk
Review: I smell cinnamon and wood with a hint of cloves. Poor throw; I could barely detect any scent while melting.
Scent: 4
Throw: 1.5

MAHOGANY LEATHER
Notes: Top: Bergamot, Incense - Middle: Rose Hips, Holiday Suede, Smoked Myrrh - Bottom: Leatherwood, Cassis Bark, Cusiacwood
Review: I smell leather and smoke. On cold sniff I also detect a hint of cedar that I don't smell when melted.
Scent: 3.5
Throw: 2.5

BLUE SPRUCE
Notes: Top - Aldehydic, Bergamot, Cranberry, Red Currant Middle - Pine Needles, Wintergreen, Clove, Cinnamon, Cypress Bottom - Balsam, Cedarwood, Amber
Review: This is one of the nicest pine/spruce scents I've ever smelled. I definitely smell pine, and there's also maybe a hint of clove. But what makes this scent unique is it has a sweetness to it, almost like a perfume. And there's also something a little foodie about it, maybe vanilla and nut? Looking at the fragrance notes, the first note is "Aldehydic"; I have no idea what this is, but I found that it offers a "soapy-waxy-lemony-floral" note to fragrances, like a "fresh lemon scent". I don't smell any lemon in this, but it's definitely a clean scent, maybe a little soapy, but not like a body wash type scent. Red Currant is probably the "classy" berry note I'm detecting. I don't smell any mint at all from the wintergreen, or cinnamon either. Throw is fantastic, and it's a "scent monster" (scent takes over entire house).
Scent: 5
Throw: 5

MAPLE BUTTERSCOTCH
Notes: Top: Sweet, Caramel, Butterscotch, Spice - Middle: Butterscotch, Toffee, Cinnamon, Clove - Bottom: Vanilla, Brown Sugar, Spice
Review: Smells like brown sugar and buttery maple with a hint of cinnamon. Would probably smell just like butterscotch candies if it weren't for the cinnamon, which makes it smell more like cinnamon sprinkled pancakes but without the bakery note.
Scent: 4
Throw: 3.5

GRAPEFRUIT HIBISCUS
Notes: Top : Juicy Grapefruit, Orange, Mandarin, Cassis - Middle : Cyclamen, Violet Leaf, Grapefruit Zest, Rhubarb - Bottom : Black Currant, Musk, Sandalwood
Review: An fresh authentic grapefruit scent but I also detect some orange. I don't smell any floral. And now looking at the scent notes there, I don't see hibiscus at all. I also don't detect musk or sandalwood.
Scent: 4
Throw: 3

WHITE PEAR & CEDAR
Notes: Top - White Pear, Nectarine Middle - White Flower, Juicy Peach Bottom - Cedarwood, Earthy Patchouli, Blonde Woods
Review: This is such an unusual combination but it really works, and it's one of my favorite scents. I definitely smell the cedar, and the fruitiness of the pear. I think I smell a hint of patchouli, but I don't smell nectarine or peach.
Scent: 5
Throw: 3

TOBACCO & HONEY
Notes: Top: Chamomile, Orange Flower, Carnation Middle: Honey, Jasmine, Saffron, Guiacwood, Opoponox Bottom: Tobacco Leaf, Vetiver, Amber, White Patchouli, Vanilla Bean, Cedar
Review: Another unusual combination that works. I definitely smell the sweet smoky tobacco scent and the honey. There's also a slight hint of floral, amber, and cedar
Scent: 5
Throw: 3

VANILLA EGGNOG
Notes: A fireside favorite with warm vanilla cream and egg custard topped with rum and sugar cane.
Review: This really smells like eggnog, sweet rich creamy milky vanilla and nutmeg, and there may be a hint of floral or amber.
Scent: 5
Throw: 3

BIRCH & CLOVE
Notes: Top - Sparkling Orange, Citrus Zest Middle - Pine Needles, Cinnamon, Clove, Rosemary, Thyme Bottom - Creamy Vanilla, Balsamic, Cedarwood, Rosewood, Musk
Review: I can't figure this one out, but it smells fantastic. Without knowing the notes, I think I smell cedar first, then clove, but there are a lot of other notes. Maybe a smidgeon of orange and pine? OK now that I've read the notes, I can see what I'm smelling. I think the orange is way in the background and barely noticeable.
Scent: 4
Throw: 3

POPCORN GARLAND
Notes: A classic holiday tradition of freshly popped popcorn strung around the Christmas tree with sweet butter and salty nuances.
Review: It smells just like authentic salty buttery popcorn!
Scent: 4
Throw: 3

FIRESIDE
Notes: Top: Soothing Citrus, Violet - Middle: Cedar, Sandalwood, Sage - Bottom: Amber, Oakmoss, Vanilla
Review: This smells like smoky clove to me, even though there's no clove in the scent list. I don't smell citrus or floral, but I do smell the cedar, sandalwood and amber, and there's a slight foodie quality which might be the richness of the vanilla.
Scent: 4
Throw: 3

HIBISCUS & JAVA (from Rio de Janeiro line)
Notes: Top: Bergamot, Orange Cassis - Middle: Jasmine, Orange Blossom, Espresso Bean Accord - Bottom: Sandalwood, Vanilla, Musk, Amber
Review: Another one of my favorite scents, this is a floral scent with a coffee note and a hint of neroli (orange blossom). I also smell the richness of the vanilla and a little warmth from the amber.
Scent: 5
Throw: 3

PLUM ORCHID
Notes: Top: Floral, Green Bergamot, Plum - Middle: Orchid, Jasmine, Ylang, Nutmeg, Amber - Bottom: Sandalwood, Musk, Vanilla, Oriental
Review: I can't figure out the notes in this one. It's kind of a green floral with a slight bitterness (maybe the bergamot). Ylang is an unusual scent to put in a wax melt, but I do detect that note. And I detect notes of the sandalwood, vanilla and musk. A very complex scent.
Scent: 3.5
Throw: 3

SKI LODGE (from Vail line)
Notes: Retreat to the ski lodge after a long day with the scent of blooming lavender nestled among crushed eucalyptus and warm cedar wood.
Review: This is kind of like a "masculine" lavender. I definitely smell lavender first, but there's also the sweet wood note from the cedar, and maybe a faint hint of the eucalyptus.
Scent: 3.5
Throw: 3

RASPBERRY MACAROON
Notes: Top: Raspberry Juices, Blackberries, Sugared Mandarin - Middle: Chopped Almonds, Vanilla Pastry, White Cocoa Bean - Bottom: Powdered Sugar, Caramel Swirl, Sweet Rum, Coconut
Review: Super rich raspberry bakery scent. I definitely smell rich raspberries, and there's a smidgeon of chocolate scent from the white cocoa. I also detect a little bit of caramel and just a hint of coconut.
Scent: 5
Throw: 3

CARNIVAL (from Rio de Janeiro line)
Notes: Top: Lavender, White Pear - Middle: White Dianthus, Orchid Vanilla, Almond Blossom - Bottom: Cocoa Beans, Myrrh, Sandalwood
Review: Very light on cold sniff and no throw when melted. But what I can smell on cold sniff smells very nice, a warm vanilla scent with hints of almond, chocolate, coconut, lavender, and a very slight baby powder note.
Scent: 3.5
Throw: 0

RIVER SEINE (from Paris line)
Notes: Top: Lemon, Pink Pepper, Metallic Notes - Middle: Anise, Geranium, Watery Flowers - Bottom: Musk, Moss, Tonka, Creamy Woods
Review: This one is so light on cold sniff that I really can't smell anything except a slightly metallic floral. I didn't even bother melting it.
Scent: n/a
Throw: n/a

PARISIAN CAFE (from Paris line)
Notes: Top: Citrus Blossoms, Mandarin, Apple, Herbal, Green Leaves, Thyme - Middle: Intoxicating Jasmine, Lily, Rose, Violet, Anise, Clove - Bottom: Musk, Sandalwood, Amber, Cedar, Vanilla, Tonka, Patchouli, Moss
Review: This one is so light on cold sniff that I really can't smell anything except a slight floral apple note. I didn't even bother melting it.
Scent: n/a
Throw: n/a

ROSEWOOD
Notes: Top: Herbal Citrus - Middle: Tobacco Blossom, Rose - Bottom: Wood, Balsamic
Review: Clearly I got a dud, because all I smell is old wax with maybe a smidgeon of the tobacco note. I didn't even bother melting it.
Scent: n/a
Throw: n/a

If you'd like to view comments and participate in discussions about this review and others, and find out where you can find these scents, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Monday, December 14, 2015

Yankee American Home Wax Cubes from Walmart - Scented Wax Review

Yankee American Home Wax Cubes from Walmart - Scented Wax Review

Yankee American Home Wax Cubes from Walmart
Click photo to view larger image

This is a review of the new Yankee American Home Wax Cubes Scented Wax Melts from Walmart. The Yankee "American Home" line is sold exclusively by Walmart. You can view their products and complete scent list at http://www.ycamericanhome.com.

Before I get into the scents, I wanted to explain the price and size of these wax cubes. At $3.95, they are double the cost of the ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens wax melts at Walmart, which are $2.00 each. The packaging is bigger, so you think you're getting what you pay for. However, if you look at the weight, you'll see that at 2.6 oz., the Yankee American Home Wax Cubes are only 0.1 oz. larger than the ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens wax melt, which are 2.5 oz. So basically, they're the same weight. How do they do this? With deceptive packaging. You're paying for more plastic, since the wax cubes are separated differently.

Size comparison with regular sized clamshell

Also, the wax does not reach the top of the pack, but is indented so it falls quite a bit below the top. These are the same underhanded marketing ploys used by many manufacturers. You buy a large bottle and then discover that the underneath is concave and the bottle is only 3/4 full.

Deceptive packaging - More plastic, more separation between wax cubes,
and indented wax that does not reach top of package

Marketing ploys aside, these are nice scents, and the throw is better than regular Yankee tarts. I think Yankee quality has gone downhill in the last few years, so it's possible that these melts were made by a completely different manufacturer with just the Yankee name slapped on the label. Although the scents are nice and the throw is relatively good, they're no better than ScentSationals or Better Homes & Gardens. And at double the price, and with deceptive packaging.

Below is the scent name, scent description from the website, my review, and my throw score (on a scale of 0 to 5, with 0 being no throw and 5 being a "scent monster" that takes over the entire house).


Fresh Balsam Fir
"The crisp, clean alpine scent of balsam with a hint of cedar."
I'm not crazy about this one. It has a very fake pine note.
Throw: 3

Delicious Cranberry
"Sweet and wonderful, natural cranberry is blended with vanilla and sugar cane."
Crisp clear sweet tart cranberry with nothing added. Smells like cranberry juice.
Throw: 4.5

Moonlit Night
"There’s a peaceful stillness to this fragrance that comes from a mix of cedar, oak moss, clove and more. It’s calm and quiet, crisp but relaxing."
I believe this is the same scent as Yankee Midsummer Night. It smells like Drakkar Noir men's cologne.
Throw: 4.5

Sweet & Salty Caramel
"The buttery, rich scent of soft caramel mixed with butterscotch and topped with just a few crystals of sea salt. Delicious!"
I believe this is the same as Yankee Salted Caramel, a sweet, salty, buttery caramel.
Throw: 3

Winter Morning
"Like the warm glow of sunrise against a blanket of snow—welcoming a day of exotic excursions and sweet detours."
On cold sniff I smell a nice cotton/laundry scent plus vanilla and maybe a hint of mint, but without the chilly menthol note. The cotton is not a harsh laundry scent, but rather subdued and blends well with the vanilla. The vanilla has a nice milky quality. I wish this one had thrown better.
Throw: 1.5

Banana Walnut Bread
"Fresh from the oven, warm banana bread flavors the room with cinnamon, nutmeg, and a dash of vanilla. It's just like the family favorite."
A nice banana bread scent with a very slight nutty note. Very similar to Mainstays Banana Nut Bread, which you can also find at Walmart at $.99 for 1.25 oz (which works out to $2 for 2.5 oz., half the price of the Yankee melt which is almost $4 for the same size). Throw for this scent is very good, but I think the Mainstays throw is slightly better.
Throw: 3.5

Sparkling Cinnamon Spice
"A bundle of cinnamon, rich and spicy, with a swirl of citrus to make it sparkle."
The main note is cinnamon, but there's also a smidgeon of some kind of crisp red berry. Although it's a nice scent, there are other scents just like it from other companies (like ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens) for half the price.
Throw: 3

Holiday Spice Cake
"Warm and delicious with brown sugar, sweet vanilla and a touch of apple—homemade goodness at its best."
Sweet cinnamon, sweeter than Sparkling Cinnamon Spice. Although it's a nice scent, there are other scents just like it from other companies (like ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens) for half the price.
Throw: 3

Sage & Red Berry
"Earthy sage mingles with red berries and warm spices to welcome the holidays with comfort and joy."
Light on cold sniff. I smell citrus, maybe a faint orange or even lemony note. But it's not really citrus, more like a super tart berry mixed with the sage. It's an odd combination of scents and I'm not sure if I like it. Melted, however, it smells like a subtle pine or balsam scent in the room, and I can't smell much else because it's very faint.
Throw: 2

Santa's Treat
"The rich buttery smell of cookies fresh from the oven…ready and waiting for that special visitor."
Vanilla with white chocolate or chocolate chip cookies. Sugar cookies are on the label, but there's definitely a chocolate note in this scent. Unfortunately zero throw.
Throw: 0

Merry Cherry
"A spirited concoction of juicy cherries and spicy cinnamon to ring in the holidays."
Sweet maraschino cherry syrup scent with a very slight perfumey note, not overpowering or harsh or black cherry. This is a fun, happy scent!
Throw: 3.5


If you'd like to view comments and participate in discussions about this review and others, and find out where you can find these scents, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.


Sunday, December 13, 2015

DD Hobby Lobby Wax Melts Wickless Fragrance Cubes Review

DD Hobby Lobby Wax Melts Wickless Fragrance Cubes Review

DD Wickless Fragrance Cubes Hobby Lobby Scented Wax Melts
Click photo to view larger image

Watch video below:

This is a review of Hobby Lobby DD Wickless Fragrance Cubes scented wax melts. The DD brand is only available at Hobby Lobby (both stores and online, although I think the stores carry a larger and more current selection).
Watch review video above, and also read review text below (there are 7 additional scents at the bottom that are not included in the video).

Both the scent and the throw scores on a scale of 0 to 5, with 5 being the best. The scent score is how much I liked the scent, so it's totally subjective. You may love a scent I dislike, and vice versa.

The throw score is how far the scent throws when melted. 0 means no throw, 1 is poor, 2 is fair, 3 is good, 3.5 is very good, 4 is excellent, and 4.5 is fantastic. 5 means it's a "scent monster" and I could smell the scent even outside the house (very few wax melts are a 5).

Gingerbread
Notes fresh baked gingerbread cookies
Review Very buttery bakery scent with a hint of ginger. Doesn't smell exactly like gingerbread. When melted it smells like very creamy coffee with just a hint of sugar and a smidgeon of ginger, but not an intense coffee scent.
Scent 4
Throw 3.5
Papaya & Pineapple
Notes juicy papaya & island pineapple
Review Papaya with a hint of pineapple. This is a tropical scent, but not an intense tropical scent, and no coconut. I'm not a fan of tropical scents, but this one is nice.
Scent 3
Throw 3
Sweet Memories
Notes spun vanilla sugar, rock candy & gummy treats
Review Super sweet sugary vanilla with a cashmere note, but not like buttercream frosting (it's not a foody scent), more like cotton candy or Pink Sugar without the fruity notes.
Scent 4
Throw 2
Persimmon & Ginger
Notes persimmon & raw ginger
Review It does smell like persimmons, that sweet almost peachy fruit scent, but it's extremely sweet, and I don't smell ginger.
Scent 1.5
Throw 2.5
Cape Cod
Notes bleached woods, oakmoss & cedarwood
Review This has a spa quality to it, a salty soapy scent with a very slight herbal note (like rosemary or oregano) and a smidgeon of mint, even though mint is not one of the notes. It doesn't have the sinus clearing effect that mint has, but it just has that note. It is quite soapy, like a bar of natural herbal soap. But it's not a body wash scent, as it's not really sweet. I don't really smell wood, although maybe a barely noticeable hint of cedar that I wouldn't know was there if I didn't know it was one of the notes. It smells better on cold sniff than when melted; melted, it's a little too "herbal soapy" to me, and would smell better with some sweetness added.
Scent 2.5
Throw 3.5
Berry Cheesecake
Notes blueberries, raspberries & vanilla cheesecake
Review Very strong on cold sniff. I smell the blueberries first, with a raspberry note, and the creaminess of the cheesecake. The berries don't smell authentic, and have a very sweet slightly candy note, but that does not detract from the overall scent. But when melted, something strange happened. The scent took on a very slight sweet baby poop note. My roommate walked in and asked me if the cat had an accident, and I wondered myself.
Scent 3.5 on cold sniff, 1 when melted
Throw 3
Honeysuckle Bouquet
Notes honeysuckle, jasmine & rose
Review A beautiful honeysuckle perfume scent. I definitely smell the honeysuckle, and a little bit of jasmine, and just a smidgeon of rose. It's definitely a perfume scent rather than an authentic flower scent, and has a bit of an old-fashioned quality to it.
Scent 4
Throw 3
Fireside
Notes warming scent of a cozy fireplace
Review Smoky scent with a cologne note and a smidgeon of spiciness (clove I think).
Scent 4
Throw 2
Misty Morning
Notes dew drops, oakwood & green leaves
Review This smells fresh and grassy but also has a slight chocolate note. I'm not sure where the chocolate comes from, but it's definitely there, like a dry spicy woodsy cocoa powder note.
Scent 3.5
Throw 2
Pomegranate & Berries
Notes pomegranate, blackberry & strawberries
Review I smell strawberry first, with a slight tartness (which is probably the blackberry), and another berry note which has a very slight tropical scent (maybe the pomegranate). When melted, there's also a very slight satsuma or lemon scent, which might just be the tartness of the blackberry.
Scent 3.5
Throw 2.5
Coconut Milk & Patchouli
Notes sweet coconut, sandalwood and exotic patchouli
Review This smells like cashmere or amber, with a slight milky coconut note. But the cashmere may just be the combination of the coconut and the patchouli. This is a fantastic and classy scent. When melted, I smell more of the coconut, but it's not a harsh or tropical coconut at all, and it works really well with the patchouli.
Scent 5
Throw 3.5
Mountain Retreat
Notes crisp snow, wintergreen tree & wooden cabin
Review This is very light on cold sniff. I definitely smell wood, kind of like an old raw wood, not a smoky wood. There may be a hint of eucalyptus (although no sinus-clearing effect) and a smidgeon of pine.
Scent 3.5
Throw 1
Sun-Drenched Denim
Notes crisp cotton, summer breeze & blue skies
Review If water had a scent, this would be it. This is the most thirst-quenching wax melt scent I've ever smelled. I smell a slight note of chlorine (like pool water), but also a fresh air note and a slight hint of floral and maybe a barely noticeable smidgeon of cologne.
Scent 4
Throw 5
Rolling Greens
Notes green grass, fresh dew & warm earth
Review This smells like grass, and it's quite authentic! Very "green" and herbal, and fresh with a very slight sweetness but not floral.
Scent 3.5
Throw 2
Lotus Blossom
Notes blooming lotus & water lilies
Review Fresh "green" soapy floral, not overly sweet and not an "authentic" floral. Has a slight men's cologne note; in fact, it smells like a "Cool Water" type men's body wash. A pleasing, relaxing "background" scent that takes on more of the men's body wash notes when melted. I'm not sure under what category I should store this: cologne, floral, or laundry, because it has notes of all three categories, but I've decided it smells like "cologne" the most.
Scent 4
Throw 3.5
Vanilla Souffle
Notes vanilla, tonka bean & creamy coconut
Review Super sweet milky vanilla, almost like vanilla buttercream. I don't really detect coconut, although there is another very subtle chemical note on cold sniff, that actually may be coconut. When melted, it smells like vanilla buttercream (no coconut or chemical notes).
Scent 4
Throw 3
Aged Driftwood
Notes bleached cedar, cool sand & dusty sage
Review This is a spa type scent with clean fresh air, wood, and green herbal notes. I definitely smell the wood, although not cedar per se. I don't know what sand smells like, but this doesn't have any kind of beachy notes. And the green herbal note is the sage. There's no sweetness in this scent, and it has a slight waxy note on cold sniff.
Scent 3.5
Throw 3.5
Cashmere Petals
Notes pink jasmine, white flowers, sugar & creme
Review This is a very girly sweet cashmere and floral perfume scent, like all the perfumes at the store with pictures of a pop star on the front! It's not like Pink Sugar, as there's no berry notes, and there's more floral than Better Homes & Gardens Sugared Lavender Twist.
Scent 3.5
Throw 1
White Birch
Notes golden apples, cashmere, fennel, birch & cedar
Review On cold sniff I smell fresh air, herbal and slightly green, with a barely noticeable apple note and a smidgeon of spearmint. I think the spearmint I'm smelling is actually the fennel. The cashmere/amber is very slight and barely noticeable. I can't figure out this scent. When melted, I smell more of the apple with some other notes, but not wood, so I don't think the name "White Birch" describes this scent at all.
Scent 2
Throw 1.5
Lavender Dreams
Notes drift off with the scent of lavender blossoms
Review This is not a sweet floral lavender, but not an herbal lavender either (no "spa" or "green" notes). On cold sniff it has a slightly industrial note, like lavender scented cleaner but not as "clean" (definitely not a Fabuloso cleaner scent), or old lavender scented soap that lost a lot of its sweetness. But cold sniff doesn't do it justice, as it smells much better when melted, a more authentic lavender scent without anything added. This is a good "blank slate" scent that could be used to make other scents. I would probably add amber and/or vanilla to it, or go for a spa scent by adding lemon and/or sage. Throw started to fizzle after only an hour.
Scent 2.5 on cold sniff, 3.5 when melted
Throw 3
White Gardenia
Notes gardenia, jasmine & lilac
Review A beautiful gardenia perfume scent, and I smell all 3 notes (gardenia first, then jasmine, and a very slight lilac note).
Scent 5
Throw 4
Italian Linen
Notes pressed cotton, green vine & a touch of citrus
Review A nice fresh laundry scent. I don't smell any citrus at all.
Scent 3.5
Throw 2
Oriental Lily & Freesia
Notes freesia, lily & violet
Review A very "green" authentic floral. Smells just like an Easter Lily.
Scent 3.5
Throw 0
Golden Sunset
Notes warm breeze, valencia oranges & fresh water
Review Fantastic and unique scent. I can't really describe this scent, maybe clean and watery, maybe slightly orangey. One of my favorite scents
Scent 5
Throw 3
Spiced Lemongrass
Notes fresh lemongrass, ginger root & bergamot
Review This smells a little like ginger ale with a lime note, maybe like a drink or even a spa scent, with maybe a slight tropical note.
Scent 3
Throw 3
Sage & Citrus
Notes clary sage, clementine & pink grapefruit
Review Fresh clean slightly herbal sweet scent with maybe a slight fruity note, with maybe a sweet lemon note which might actually be the grapefruit. I can't figure out the scent notes.
Scent 4
Throw 3
Amber & Vanilla
Notes warm vanilla, golden amber & smokey myrrh
Review This is slightly spicy soapy scent with a smidgeon of cologne (which may be the myrrh). I do detect a hint of amber, but not any vanilla.
Scent 3.5
Throw 3
Coconut Dream
Notes coconut milk, macadamia nut & vanilla
Review I smell coconut with maybe a smidgeon of barely noticeable nut. It's not a tropical coconut.
Scent 3
Throw 3
Cherry Lime Spritzer
Notes sparkling bing cherries
Review This smells like sweet cherry soda with a slight fizziness. It's not a tart black cherry scent.
Scent 3.5
Throw 3
Berry & Vanilla Burst
Notes tart berries, sweet coconut & caramel
Review This has a fake berry scent, like that from a Tuscany Candle wax melt. It's almost like a Christmas berry like a bayberry, but not cranberry. It has a soapy note, and I don't smell coconut or caramel.
Scent 3.5
Throw 3
Vintage Luxe
Notes amber & caramel with a smokey undertone
Review I smell the smokiness with an amber note, but no caramel. Almost a slight men's cologne note with maybe a smidgeon of vanilla which is probably the caramel. It's not a foodie scent though.
Scent 4
Throw 3
Blackberry Cardamom
Notes hand-picked blackberries & crushed cardamom
Review I'm not sure what cardamom smells like, but this smells like a Christmas scent, cinnamon with a berry note.
Scent 3
Throw 3.5
Beach Getaway
Notes ocean air with a hint of vacation
Review A typical fresh air scent with a hint of saltiness. No particular notes stand out. It also smells a little like body wash, either feminine or masculine, and it's not overly sweet. I have a lot of fresh air scents very similar to this one.
Scent 3.5
Throw 3
Raindrop
Notes lotus blossom, water mist & dewy moss
Review Fresh air scent with a lemon note and a hint of soapiness. The lemon is not strong, and it's not really a sweet scent. It smells like dish detergent, so it would be great for a kitchen. When melted, it has a watery note with a subtle sweetness that makes it smell even better than it does on cold sniff.
Scent 5
Throw 4
Christmas Morning
Notes fir balsam, clove & mandarin
Review I smell cinnamon, berries and cloves, with a hint of pine. The pine almost smells like fresh green grass.
Scent 3.5
Throw 4
Pumpkin Pie
Notes pumpkin puree, nutmeg & baked pie crust
Review This doesn't smell like pumpkin pie on cold sniff. It smells like sweet buttery caramel or butterscotch.
Scent 4
Throw 3.5
Candied Pecans
Notes crushed pecan, vanilla & brown sugar
Review I definitely smell the nut, plus the sweetness of the brown sugar, and maybe a barely noticeable trace of cinnamon. This is light on cold sniff. It smells much better melted than on cold sniff. Melted, it almost has a slight perfumey quality to it, which smells amazing when mixed with the brown sugar and nuttiness.
Scent 3.5 on cold sniff, 5 when melted
Throw 3.5
Coastal Vanilla
Notes vanilla orchid, coastal breeze & white musk
Review This is definitely a tropical scent. I smell mango I think, or maybe it's pineapple, with a slightly tart lemony, orange or satsuma note. But it's not a harsh tropical scent, due to the sweetness of the vanilla and a slight ambery perfume note. Fairly strong on cold sniff, so disappointed that throw was so weak when melted.
Scent 4
Throw 2
Sweet Tea
Notes icy tea, sweet sugar & lemon
Review I bought this one after I already did this review, so it wasn't included originally. It smells exactly like iced tea with a smidgeon of lemon. This scent lasted over 24 hours!

I also compared DD Sweet Tea with Colonial Candles Sweet Iced Tea. DD is stronger on the tea side, like sweet iced tea with lemon. CC is stronger on the lemon side, like sweet lemonade with a hint of tea. I can smell some of the background notes coming through with the CC version (mostly the peach and the honey), while the DD version is just sweet iced black tea with lemon and nothing else. The CC version smells like powdered iced tea, and the DD version smells more like fresh authentic strong iced tea. Although I like both scents, I think I like the DD a little bit more.

Scent 4
Throw 4

If you'd like to view comments and participate in discussions about this review and others, and find out where you can find these scents, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Tuesday, December 8, 2015

ScentSationals Winter Holiday Christmas 2015 Scented Wax Review

ScentSationals Winter Holiday Christmas 2015 Scented Wax Review

ScentSationals Winter Holiday Christmas 2015 Scented Wax Melts
Click photo above to view larger image

This is a review of the ScentSationals Winter/Holiday/Christmas 2015 Scented Wax. Some of these are new scents, and some are older scents brought back this season.

Candy Cane Twist
Smells like Tuscany Candles Peppermint, a nice sweet peppermint with a vanilla note, just like a candy cane. This is strong on the peppermint, but it's a nice cool mint scent. No spearmint or toothpaste type mint, thankfully! This would probably smell fantastic mixed with a little chocolate!
Throw: 4

Sleigh Ride
Smells like Vicks VapoRub! It's a fresh chilly minty eucalyptus scent on cold sniff, with a hint of spruce. It has a strong sinus clearing effect, but it's not overly minty, not peppermint, and definitely not spearmint. Perfect wax to melt if you have a cold! After a few hours, more of the pine/sprucey notes come out. This is an older scent that has returned for the season.
Throw: 3.5

Blanket of Snow
So different from anything I've smelled. It's like an ambery perfume with other notes I can't put my finger on. Maybe a fruit? Frankincense? I really don't know. It has a bit of an "old-fashioned" vibe. It's a nice scent, not my favorite, maybe a 6 on a scale of 1 to 10.
Throw: 3

Citrus Garland
Smells like pine and grapefruit. It's not a combination that I would think would work, but it really does! It's probably 75% pine and 25% grapefruit on cold sniff, but when warmed it's a nice warm sprucey pine with just a hint of grapefruit. This is an older scent that has returned for the season.
Throw: 4

Twinkle Lights
Rarely am not I able to describe a scent, and this is one of those times. Other people have said it smells like a feminine perfume, but I'm not getting that. There may be baby powder or amber in there, but there's also something sour. Melted, it smells like dirt or potting soil, and maybe a hint of sweet apricot. My roommate said it smells like an old moldy peach on cold sniff, but when melted he said it smells like moldy dirt from an old cellar. It sounds more awful than it smells though. I don't care for this one, maybe a 3 for me in terms of scent (on a scale of 1 to 10). Due to the iffiness of the scent and the weak throw, this one ended up being a dud for me.
Throw: 2

Winterberry Spice
Smells like frankincense and baby powder, kind of like a classy perfume. I don't smell any berry in it. I really like this scent and wish the throw was better. This is an older scent that has returned for the season.
Throw: 1.5

Silent Night
Slightly spearminty soapy scent on cold sniff with a hint of cologne and a waxy note. I think it smells similar to Better Homes & Gardens Frosty Winter Nights, which I didn't like. It actually smells a lot like ScentSationals Zen, which I also don't like due to the spearmint note. When melted, it smells even more like Zen, and I no longer detect the soapy cologne note. This is an older scent that has returned for the season.
Throw: 3.5

Pumpkin French Toast
Yummy sweet caramely maple butter scent with a slight bread note and maybe a smidgeon of cinnamon. But this is not a fall type scent. It also doesn't have that rich salty note that a lot of caramely bakery scents have, so I don't think this is a dupe of any other ScentSationals scents.
Throw: 4

Pomegranate Currant
Smells like a fruity lipstick, similar to ScentSationals Italian Gelato and Better Homes & Gardens White Cranberry Amaryllis, but slightly more tangy and not as sweet and strawberryish on cold sniff. When melted though, it smells a lot more like those two scents. It almost has a Pink Sugar vibe to it, so this is actually more of a "girly" scent. I really like this one. This is an older scent that has returned for the season.
Throw: 3.5

Cinnamon Bun
On cold sniff I thought this was just another sweet cinnamon scent, but not at all. When melted, it smells just like Cinnabon cinnamon buns! Super sweet cinnamon and sugar sweet white frosting and bread with lots of butter. So yummy, with super strong scent and throw. I even smelled it on my clothes when I left the house!
Throw: 5

Cinnamon Leaf & Pepperberry
Subtle cinnamon scent with a powdered sugar note. It's very similar to ScentSationals Twilight Mist & Dreams (also a powdery cinnamon), especially when melted, but with a few very slightly different notes. It's cinnamon mixed with something else, but I'm not sure what that is. It has a bit of a candy note, as it's very sweet, but it's not a red hot cinnamon candy scent, it's not a harsh cinnamon, and doesn't have any bakery notes. I'm not a huge fan of cinnamon, but I like this one.
Throw: 3.5

Comfort & Joy
I did not buy this one, because I heard from other people that's it's just a straight cinnamon scent (which I don't like).


Want to comment and participate in discussions about this review and others? Join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Thursday, November 26, 2015

Cranberry Scented Wax Melts Review

Cranberry Scented Wax Melts Review

Cranberry Scented Wax Melts Review
Click photo above to view larger image

Watch video below:

This Cranberry Scented Wax Melts Review is Part 2 of my two-part Winter-Holiday-Christmas berry scented wax melts reviews... perfect for Thanksgiving Day!  (Part 1 is Winter-Holiday-Christmas berry scents like bayberry and clove type fruity scents).

If you'd like to view comments and participate in discussions about this review and others, and find out where you can find these scents, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Winter Holiday Christmas Berry Scented Wax Review

Winter-Holiday-Christmas Berry Scented Wax Melts Review

Winter Holiday Christmas Berry Scented Wax Review
Click photo above to view larger image


Watch video below:


This is Part 1 of my two-part Winter-Holiday-Christmas berry scented wax melts reviews, and includes winter berries such as bayberry and "clove" type fruity scents. (The next video, Part 2, is a review of Cranberry scented wax melts.)

If you'd like to view comments and participate in discussions about this review and others, and find out where you can find these scents, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Saturday, November 21, 2015

Quick Review of 30 Winter Holiday Christmas Scented Wax Melts

This is a quick video review of 30 Winter/Holiday/Christmas Scented Wax Melts from retail (store-bought) brands such as ScentSationals, Better Homes & Gardens, Tuscany and Sonoma.


Winter/Holiday/Christmas Scented Wax Melts
View larger detailed photo in our Facebook group

This video is exclusive to our Facebook Group members only. Want to see it and join the discussion? View it here (you will be asked to join the group):

https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/837197406398090/

We're a bunch of like-minded scented wax enthusiasts who love store-bought wax! (This group is only for store-bought wax, no vendor or direct sales wax)

Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday Christmas 2015 Limited Edition Scented Wax Melts Review

 Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday Christmas 2015 Limited Edition Scented Wax Melts Review

Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday Christmas 2015 Limited Edition Scented Wax Melts
Click photo to view larger image

This is a review of the new Tuscany Candle Winter/Holiday/Christmas 2015 Limited Edition Scented Wax Melts. These are different from the standard Tuscany holiday scents, and seem to be a higher quality with better scents and throw. (You can see my review and video of the standard Tuscany holiday scents at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2015/11/tuscany-candle-winter-holiday-christmas-scents.html.)

Watch video below:



Gingerbread House
Yummy authentic gingerbread scent, with cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and a bready note.
Throw: 3.5

Frosted Cookies
This smells like a combination of their standard Grandma's Sugar Cookie scent mixed with a sweet buttercream. Very nice!
Throw: 4

Cinnamon Spice
I wasn't even going to smell this one because I don't like straight cinnamon, but this one is definitely not straight cinnamon, and it's not exactly what you'd expect based on the name. This is a delectable scent, not a fall scent. It smells like you're melting butter and sugar with a little bit of cinnamon and just a smidgeon of vanilla. It's also not a bakery scent, as I don't smell bread or cake. Rich and yummy!
Throw: 4

Evergreen & Balsam
I think this is same scent as the standard Tuscany scent by the same name. It's not overly piney, and has a very slightly sweet note, like maybe a smidgeon of vanilla. It also has a very slightly barely noticeable nuttiness. Very pleasant scent.
Throw: 4

Cranberry Champagne
It smells like wine, with that fermentation note, but it's a different scent from Tuscany Christmas Cranberry (from their standard holiday 2015 line), which also smells like wine but with more of a nauseating vinegar note. This one has more of a cranberry note than wine.
Throw: 4

Winter
This is the most interesting of all 6 scents, with lots of different notes in it on cold sniff. I get a lot of mint, but not a sweet peppermint or spearmint. In fact, it's not overly sweet, and definitely not a candy cane type scent. I also smell vanilla, amber, and a very slight smoky woodsy note. It's not strong on cold sniff.

This is a Jekyll & Hyde scent, as it did an about face on me and turned into something else entirely when melted. It smells a little like a fresh mint plant from the backyard, very herbal, but really more like parsley with a mediciney note. Almost like the wax is really old, but I don't think it is. I don't smell the vanilla, amber, or smoky woodsy notes either while melted. Disappointed, but the throw is weak so it actually doesn't smell awful in the room. Just not what I expected based on cold sniff.
Throw: 2



If you'd like to view comments and participate in discussions about this review and others, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Better Homes & Gardens (Walmart) Winter Holiday Christmas 2015 Scented Wax Melts Reviews


Better Homes & Gardens Winter Holiday Christmas 2015 Scented Wax Melts
Click photo to view larger image

Better Homes & Gardens (Walmart) Winter Holiday Christmas 2015
Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Cranberry Apple Martini
This smells more like a summer scent than winter, like vanilla with the very slightly tart cranberry note and a hint of apple and even watermelon. Actually, it smells a little more like strawberry than cranberry. It also has a very slight makeup or perfume note, but in a good way. I love this one.
Throw: 3.5

Twinkling Holiday Lights
I'm not sure if this is a new scent or not. Minty eucalyptus with a bit of pine, and a hint of vanilla and maybe even a smidgeon of berry. It's not a sweet mint like peppermint. This smells like AmbiEscents Pine Wreath, with the addition of the minty eucalyptus menthol. If you inhale directly over the melting wax, you get that sinus clearing effect, but even from farther away it has a "cooling" note. This is a perfect scent to melt if you have a cold!
Throw: 4.5

Christmas Morning Latte
This is an old scent brought back this season (it was a Limited Edition 2013 scent). Super creamy buttery coffee flavored eggnog with nutmeg and cinnamon. This is like ScentSationals Iced Coffee scent mixed with nutmeg and cinnamon. I love this one!
Throw: 4.5

Candied Mulberry Spice
I believe this is an old scent brought back this season. Bright sweet cranberry scent with just a smidgeon of spice. This has a very slightly offputting bitter "cat pee" note in the background. It's not enough to be bothersome, but it does seem to come out a bit more as the wax has been melting for a few hours.
Throw: 5

Frosted Honey Cake
Sweet rich honey mixed with cake batter. This smells like ScentSationals Bee Sweet or Honey Nectar, mixed with cake. It does not smell like ScentSationals Honey Bourbon Frosting, as that scent is sweeter, has the bourbon note, and no cake notes. Fantastic yummy scent!
Throw: 4

Frosty Winter Nights
On cold sniff, it smells like eucalyptus with a hint of balsam, and maybe a smidgeon of anise. When melted, it's definitely balsam/pine with eucalyptus, and a spearmint note. I'm not a fan of spearmint, and this smells a little like the spearmint in ScentSationals Zen or ScentSationals Yin & Yang, but more of it, and with balsam. This is not one of my favorites, and other people who have tried this scent seem to concur.
Throw: 3

A Wonderful Winter
This smells like a combination of apple and eucalyptus, with a hint of cinnamon. Not overly sweet. The eucalyptus is very minty, but plain mint, not spearmint, so no toothpaste note. The eucalyptus adds that very slightly sage-y note to counteract too much sweetness from the apple. When melted, I definitely smell all 3 notes: the apple, cinnamon, and eucalyptus. Close up it has a very strong sinus-clearing menthol effect, more than most other minty scents I've smelled, and I can even detect the sinus-clearing effect in the room. I like the crisp apple note in this one!
Throw: 4

Pomander and Pinecones
Orange with a woodsy note and a hint of clove, and maybe a smidgeon of sage. It's not a bright citrusy orange nor is it sweet at all. It's actually quite savory. "Pomander" is an orange or apple studded with cloves to perfume the air, usually around the holidays. The label shows a photo of a pomander. I can smell the orange, cloves and sage, but you can't really tell what you're smelling other than it has a slight "food" quality, like someone is cooking something. This one is absolutely a 5 in terms of throw. It's taken over the entire house and outside the house with the windows closed. In fact, the strong savory aspect was too overwhelming so I had to toss a cube of vanilla in it to subdue the scent a bit. This scent is interesting, but I'm not a fan because it's too "rich" or nauseating or something.
Throw: 5

Sparkling Berry Garland
A light pine scent with a eucalyptus note and maybe a smidgeon of vanilla.
Throw: 3

Gourmet Cookie Shop
The photo on the label shows a sugared vanilla cookie, but this smells like a rich oatmeal cookie with a slightly cinnamon note, similar to ScentSationals Spiced Oatmeal Cookie but without the raisin note. In fact, I've been told it's a dupe of ScentSationals Oatmeal Cookie scent. Yummy!
Throw: 3.5

White Cranberry Amaryllis
Amaryllis is a type of lily flower with a mild, sweet and delicate scent. In fact, there's a picture of the amaryllis next to cranberries on the label. This is a beautiful sweet berry scent with a hint of floral, and it almost has a "lipstick" scent quality. I can smell the sweet cranberry, but it smells like a warm intense strawberry, like strawberry jam. I think this is more of a summer scent than a winter scent. And although it has a lot of the same notes as Cranberry Apple Martini, that one is a different scent, with more tart berry and a watermelon note, not as sweet and no floral notes. I really like this scent.

Aha, I knew I recognized this scent! This is a dupe of ScentSationals Italian Gelato which I have classified as a Pink Sugar type scent. The wax is even the exact same shade of red.
Throw: 3

Iced Winter Cranberry
This is an old scent that's back for the season. This smells just like wine or champagne, fermented and with that slightly vinegary note. There's no mintiness that would make it "iced". I'm not a fan of wine scents so this one isn't my favorite.
Throw: 4

Snowy Winter Woods
This is not a new scent, but it's back for the season. Woodsy with a note of smoky spruce and eucalyptus, and a smidgeon of mint, but not a sweet mint. It might have some other note I can't put my finger on, but I really like this one, and it seems to be a favorite with a lot of people.
Throw: 4


If you'd like to view comments and participate in discussions about this review and others, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Monday, November 16, 2015

Scented Wax Reviews - Orange Scents

Scented Wax Reviews - Orange Scents

This is a review of oranged scented wax melts. Orange scents and citrus smells can help you concentrate, wake you up in the morning, and give you energy.

Scented Wax Reviews - Orange Scents
Click photo to view larger image

  • ScentSationals Orange Cream Cupcake
    Bakery orange, like an orange flavored yellow cake. It smells a little more lemony to me though.
  • ScentSationals Orange Cream Swirl
    Creamy orange, like an orange cream popsicle or orange cream candies.
  • Cobblestone Candle Orange Ginger Fizz
    Orange flavored soda with a slight fizziness and a very slight ginger note.
  • ScentSationals Orange Blossom
    A nice slightly floral citrus scent
  • Better Homes & Gardens Orange Buttercream Cupcake
    Smells just like SS Orange Cream Cupcake, with maybe a slightly more creamy sweetness. Or it might be the exact same scent!
  • ScentSationals Hangin' Out
    The label says "A fun-filled blend of plum, blackberry and wild currant", but it smells like orange to me, with maybe a hint of some kind of berry and a slight creamy candy note.
  • ScentSationals Rise & Shine
    Although this one has oranges on the label, I detect only a very subtle barely noticeable hint of orange, but mostly I smell something like cake and perhaps a hint of coffee. I wouldn't really classify this under orange scents except for the oranges on the label.
  • Better Homes & Gardens Valencia Blood Orange
    ScentSationals Molten Orange
    ScentSationals Fusion Mandarin Zest

    A very intense orange scent, similar to satsuma (a small orange with a pungent lemony slightly grapefruit citrus scent). All 3 of these scents smell very similar and may in fact be the same scent.
  • ScentSationals Special Moments
    Fake orange scent but not in a bad way, maybe like orange flavored candy but not overly sweet. May have a hint of grapefruit.
  • AmbiEscents Citrus Sunrise
    A creamy bakery orange scent, similar to ScentSationals Rise & Shine but with more orange.
  • Boulevard Orange & Clove
    Similar to ScentSationals Orange Clove but with less orange. Again, this is more of a fall scent than an orange scent.
  • Living Colors Tangerine Burst
    Just like the name suggests, this is a "burst" of orange, a bright orange soda type orange but without the fizziness. Has a slight pungent satsuma note.
  • Sonoma Be Rejuvenated (Citrus Mist)
    Refreshing general citrus scent. I smell mostly orange but maybe also grapefruit and possibly a hint of lemon. It's not a realistic scent, and I think it has some fresh air notes in it that makes the room smell clean.
  • ScentSationals Orange Clove
    Orange scent with a hint of clove, a slight bakery note, and a smidgeon of wood. This is more of a fall type scent. It's very similar to Better Homes & Gardens Pomander and Pinecones, but a little more spice, a slight bakery note, less orange, and less woodsiness. Or it may in fact be the same scent as Pomander and Pinecones.
  • Better Homes & Gardens Pomander and Pinecones
    Orange with a woodsy note and just a smidgeon of clove. It's not a bright citrusy orange. "Pomander" is an orange or apple studded with cloves to perfume the air, usually around the holidays. The label shows a photo of a pomander. Similar to ScentSationals Orange Clove, but no bakery notes, more woodsiness and more orange, and slightly less spicy.
  • Better Homes & Gardens Cranberry Mandarin Splash
    Mainstays Cranberry Mandarin

    I believe these are the same scent. They smells lik orange candy with a very slight tangy berry note. Very strong!

If you'd like to view comments and participate in discussions about this review and others, and find out where you can find these scents, please join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Wood Scented Wax Melts Review - Misc. Woodsy Scents

Wood Scented Wax Melts - Misc. Woodsy Scents

Wood Scented Wax Melts - Misc. Woodsy Scents
Click photo to view larger image

Watch Video:


Review of wood scented wax melts: Part 3 of 3 - Misc. Wood & Woodsy Scents

Check out our last 2 videos: Sweet Woodsy and Smoky scents.

Want to discuss store-bought scented wax melts like ScentSationals, Better Homes & Gardens, Sonoma & Yankee? Join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Wood Scented Wax Melts Review - Smoke Fireplace Campfire Bonfire Scents

Wood Scented Wax Melts - Smoke Fireplace Campfire Bonfire Scents

Smoke Fireplace Campfire Scented Wax
Click photo to view larger image

Watch Video:


Review of smoky scented wax melts: Part 2 of 3 - Smoky Campfire Bonfire Fireplace type scents

Check out our previous video (Sweet Woodsy Scents) and our next video (Misc. Woodsy Scents)

Want to discuss store-bought scented wax melts like ScentSationals, Better Homes & Gardens, Sonoma & Yankee? Join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Wood Scented Wax Melts Review - Sweet Vanilla Woods Type Scents

Wood Scented Wax Melts - Sweet Vanilla Woods Type Scents

Wood Scented Wax Melts - Sweet Vanilla Woods Type
Click photo to view larger image


Watch video below:


Review of wood scented wax melts: Part 1 of 3 - Sweet "Vanilla Woods" "furniture store" type woodsy scents

And check out our next 2 video reviews above: Smoky Scents and Misc. Woodsy Scents

Want to discuss store-bought scented wax melts like ScentSationals, Better Homes & Gardens, Sonoma & Yankee? Join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.